The Roots of the Cross

“Come, let us return to the Lord;

For He has torn, but he will heal us;

He has stricken, but He will bind us up . . .”

Hosea 6:1

We are so fallen

We are so desperate

Standing next to the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil

Enjoying the shade

Enjoying the sound of the wind through it’s leaves

Looking at the fruit

Deciding for ourselves

 

Fallen

Why do I do that which I do not want to do

Why don’t I do the things I want to do

Why do we stand in the shade of the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil

Why do we stand there and stare.

Waiting for the fruit to drop

Fallen

 

Fallen and bruised

So we wait in the shade

naked

ashamed

for the Heel to crush the snake.

He came. HE CAME.

“On the third day he will raise us up,

that we may live in His sight.”

Let us offer the sacrifice or our lips

Because we didn’t seek Him, and yet He seeks us.

 

He stretches out His arms all day long,

to a stubborn people.

And then He stretched out His arms, one day.

While we were yet His enemies.

Bleeding for the ungodly.

“I will heal their backsliding,

I will love them freely,

For My anger has turned away from him.”

 

Our Savior, saving us each day.

Delivered and being delivered.

The shadow of the cross falls over me.

I lie on my face under the weight of its shadow.

My dust, to dust

His glory, to glory

He says, “I am like a green cypress tree;

Your fruit is found in Me.”

 

The Cross had roots

The Cross had shade.

The Cross had fruit.

The Cross budded new life.

 

 

 

 

 

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Roots of the Cross

  1. A beautiful heartfelt post of truth. 👍

  2. That is beautiful!
    And insightful. And so, so true.
    How, in return, can we not love Him with all our heart and not give Him our whole being?

    God bless you!
    In His sweet love,
    FC

  3. Branbran says:

    Beautiful. Thank You Jesus that You saved me.

  4. Mrs. N says:

    Wow- this is awesome-thank you!

  5. Diane says:

    Wow–powerful!

Leave a Reply

