Calvary Chapel Golden Springs Invites a Wolf to Teach the Sheep

“Keep watch over yourselves and the entire flock of which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers. Be shepherds of the church of God, which He purchased with His own blood. I know that after my departure, savage wolves will come in among you and will not spare the flock.” Acts 20:28-29

A shepherd (pastor) is supposed to protect the flock (church) from wolves (false teachers). When this does not happen there are only two reasons–the shepherd doesn’t love Jesus or the shepherd does not love the sheep.

Proof:

Jesus said that if Simon Peter LOVED Him, he would take care of His sheep:

Jesus asked a second time, “Simon son of John, do you love Me?” “Yes, Lord,” he answered, “You know I love You.” Jesus told him, “Shepherd My sheep.” John 21:16

Jesus said if a shepherd doesn’t protect the sheep from a wolf it is because they are a hireling and don’t love the sheep.

I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd sacrifices his life for the sheep.  A hired hand will run when he sees a wolf coming. He will abandon the sheep because they don’t belong to him and he isn’t their shepherd. And so the wolf attacks them and scatters the flock.  The hired hand runs away because he’s working only for the money and doesn’t really care about the sheep. John 10:11-13

So when Pastor Raul Ries invites a man like Brian Head Welch to speak in his pulpit, he either doesn’t love the Lord Jesus (the True Word of God), or he doesn’t love his church.

Because, NOT KNOWING THAT BRIAN HEAD WELCH is a false teacher is NOT POSSIBLE.

Calvary Chapel has been warned by concerned Christians, there has been controversy, they have been presented with solid facts, they have lied about the facts, backpedaled, minimized, justified, and whitewashed their associations with Welch for YEARS. They have even used KWVE to distort the truth regarding the Whosoever movement and Brian’s extreme charismatic beliefs and connections.

And what happens?

13179123_10154171515991974_8086575686967933593_n (1)

Well, May 22, Brian “Head” Welch will be speaking at Calvary Chapel Golden Springs to promote his new book, With My Eyes Wide Open.

Why is this happening?

brianheadwelch_WithMyEyesWideOpenBrian Head Welch has extreme charismatic beliefs, do people think that those mystical teachings are going to be absent from a book that he is hawking at this event? He believes Jesus drops black angelic feathers on him while he worships, and puts gemstones in his hands at church. He believes that Jesus Himself, has walked into his house (video on his Facebook). He believes that it is better to roll around on the floor and be drunk in the spirit than actually sit and listen to a sermon. He has said that God loves us the way a man loves his wife’s naked body. He has a sensual, mystical, extreme charistmatic, drunk in the spirit type of spirituality. And he is being invited to a Calvary Chapel to sell his book??? Calvary distribution wouldn’t even sell the books that are written by the people that share his point of view–because it is UNBIBLICAL!!!! (see links below for evidence of all these claims)

I got saved through the Calvary Chapel movement. I began my walk with the solid Bible teaching and verse by verse analysis of Scripture. This is my foundation. These are my roots. This is my dysfunctional family. This pains me.

And when I see the very people that taught me how to be set apart for the Lord, how to be holy, how to flee from my youthful lusts and addictions–compromising and doing the opposite of what they used to preach–I can’t wrap my head around it.

I have already written several articles about this. Not because I want to, but because I have this tiny hope that maybe somehow things can change and go back to the way they are supposed to be. I am trying to warn people that this isn’t right. So many people just ignore it, because Raul Ries and Brian Brodersen are treated like celebrities that you can’t disagree with.

I have even been very gracious, thinking at one time, “Hey! This is only going on because they don’t know what Brian is really into!!! If they just knew, surely they would address it.

Yeah, NO.

After trying to speak to Calvary Chapel leaders, and not having my calls taken or my emails responded to, Calvary Chapel leaders decide to dismiss my concerns on KWVE’s “Pastor’s Perpective” radio show. Implying that those of us who have tried to speak out, live in our basements with our “Christian yellow pages” and never minister to people, so we just bash the real evangelists like Brian Head Welch. They have no clue who we are or what we do with our lives, but like mature Christians, they just decide to resort to childish name calling.

Here are some articles that give gratuitous examples of ungodliness and false teaching. There is no need for me to write it all again. It is already out there.

Calvary Chapel–Is The Church Tolerating the Sin of Balaam and Jezebel

My Response to Calvary Chapel’s Pastor’s Perspective on the Whosoever Movement.

I Don’t Get It Brian

Brian Head Welch and Todd Bentley–Calvary Chapel Says, “He’s Not Backing Those Dudes”– Really?

Brian Head Welch and the Plank In My Eye

Other brothers and sisters in the Lord have also addressed this issue:

The Fruit of Brian Head Welch

The Spirituality of Brian Head Welch Exposed (Caution: This reality is DISTURBING)

The Whosoevers Exposed

Brian Head Welch & Co. and Their Occultism

Brian Head Welch Teams Up With Todd Bentley

Brian Head Welch Serves Communion With John Crowder

headcroatia02

Head is here pictured as a priest with Croatian children (2006). In the back “satanic priests” are performing a type of black mass ceremony inside the church. The symbolism in this picture hits the nail on the head. It totally epitomizes the truth about what is going on with Head leading in the church, going back to Korn, and his affect on the youth.

But I just want to say that after all this time has passed, Brian has not changed. He is still PROMOTING false teaching, unbiblical fables, and heretics. Brian also promotes his band Korn, which is a band that Christians should never listen to let alone team up with, because their lyrics are so ungodly. Not only does he promote the band, but he will tell people that God Himself, told Brian to go and be in the band again. So, he is essentially saying that God promotes the band. That is like a prostitute saying that God told her to go back to her sinful lifestyle, so she can evangelize her old clients. It makes no sense.

Now I am not saying that Ryan Ries and the family should not love or be great friends with Brian. I get that you can LOVE people that have unbiblical beliefs, but you don’t let them teach in your church.

I have friends that I love dearly that are ALL ABOUT Bill Johnson. I love them, but I would NEVER let them come and teach my Bible study. Why? Because I would be afraid that the Lord would be angry (fear/love of God) and because I love my sheep, and would never want to promote a teacher that can derail their faith–their faith is so precious to me. Inviting someone to speak, validates their teaching!

Brian Head Welch is “Above” Correction

Brian, just put out the prologue to his new book. In it, he describes a terrible scene of discovering that his beautiful daughter has been cutting herself and struggling with suicidal thoughts, all around the time that he went back to Korn. His last sentence was:

“Then something occurred to me that frightened me almost as much as the slashes on Jennea’s arms.What if all of this is happening because I went back to KoRn?” (Prologue, With Eyes Wide Open, by Brian Head Welch)

Now the book has not been released yet, so I can’t possibly have read the entire thing and see his answer to that question. But I would go to Vegas with the odds, that he is going to say something like, “No, God wanted me back in Korn.”

We shall see!

If you look on his personal website (brianheadwelch.net) he has a page dedicated to promoting Korn. On this page there is a video for the song “Never, Never” where you can watch a horned demonic princess dance around on the center of a broken clock. But hey, Brian Head Welch is wearing a Whosoever shirt in the video, so it must be okay with Jesus.

The album that Brian recently recorded with Korn still had the parental advisory label for explicit lyrics. This means that even the WORLD thinks this music is offensive. But if a Christian calls him out on it, we are judgmental haters. Did he call the RIAA judgmental haters for labeling the album, thinking it had excessive profanities and vulgar references?

Korn_World_Tour_Edition

When was the last time you had a speaker at your church whose last album had the Parental Advisory Explicit Content warning on their label?

But what really made me sad, is that he is still very mean spirited to any Christian that would try to give him loving Scriptural exhortation.

This one lovely sister, left a comment that was extremely generous and gracious. She said:

“I know this will stir the pot, I say it in full love. It takes a real friend, a real brother or sister in Christ being honest, sometimes getting in our face and calling us out when it’s not easy, when it will not make you popular. I’m going to be that friend right now. Brian, I’ve read your first book. I have been floored. God chased you down; you came to him in full repentance and acceptance. In Washed By The Blood, it is so clear that you got it. The truth, the correct doctrine of the Word, God, is something that I seek to make sure that I’m following and anyone who claims to be a follower of Christ too. For all I can gather, you had it.
Why you went back to KoRn, that doesn’t make sense. I read where you decided, at some point, that God likes all music. He doesn’t. I believe that deep down you know that. It’s not the music ( the beat, the tempo…), it’s the words that matter. If they foster sin, he does not like or endorse them.
My husband and I have been so encouraged by your original story. We were hoping to share it with our teenage son who has decided he is an atheist. Much like you, with your daughter having a struggle in her life, we didn’t see that one coming.
But he really likes metal and we thought if he read about you and saw that you came to Christ and that you were making positive music with good messages, it might draw him back to God.
We didn’t realize you had re-joined KoRn. Once we did, we listened to the latest album. It’s labeled explicit, rightfully so. To be blunt, the lyrics to many of the songs are terrible. Lullaby For A Sadist: about taking pleasure in hurting someone. I’m not going to quote others.
You can’t sing those words in good conscience. You can’t compartmentalize your life and think that it’s okay to sing things that promote destructive behavior and thoughts. I believe you know this because from all that I have read about your conversion, it was real. You know THE truth. What happened?
Well, I am gonna pray that out of the thousands of posts that you get, God will bring you to read this one. I want you to know that my husband and I are praying for you, in love, that Christ will lead you out of KoRn and to a place of remembering all of his truth again. We all lose our way sometimes; God can pull us back. I hope you will read this with an open heart and mind. I pray it. Right now, you are leading some of the very people who came to Christ through the sharing of your life story astray. You’re sending them the wrong message. God loves you; he loves us all. You know that; I believe in you.
He doesn’t love everything we do. He doesn’t love all of our behavior and choices.
You’re behind enemy lines by being back with KoRn and I’m not condemning them.
Being there is gonna make it a lot harder to hear God’s still small voice. Satan is telling you a lie right now. Listen for God. Praying for you.” (Rebekah Oliphant Hall).

IMG_0440

My goodness, this woman believes the best about him, gives him the benefit of the doubt, extends grace and compassion–and guess what he does? He insults her. Just like he has insulted hundreds of other Christians who try to love him. He says:

“I’m not a youth pastor I went back to help people that were like me. Worry about your own family and destiny and I’ll worry about mine. I love it when people think they know so much about intimate details of other people’s callings. #pride is a blinder wow.” (Brian Head Welch, May 4, 2016, 4:03 pm.)

How rude is that?

At one time, I felt the same way as she did. Thinking that with a little love and some prayer, that he would find his way. Now I have shaken the dust from my feet. He has heard the truth, and he hates it. He treats with contempt anyone who shares it with him.

#pride.

Pearls before swine, truly.

Since he is not worried about your family, this summer he is going on tour with Korn and Rob Zombie. We can worry about our own families.

Rob-zombie-Korn-in-this-moment-tour-2016
 Yes, Rob Zombie.
zombie-31-god
For Jesus’ glory” right?
2nd Annual Revolver Golden Gods Awards - Show

LOS ANGELES, CA – APRIL 08 (Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images)

And Head is STILL promoting false teachers.

On March 27, 2016 he promoted a book called Hunger Driven, by Brian Nickens. This was just a month and a half ago, not ten years ago. This is a book from a teacher at Bethel Redding. Which is one of the most popular extreme charismatic (NAR) churches in the country right now. The forward to the book is by Bethel’s pastor, Bill Johnson.

FullSizeRender

Brian Nickens who USED to be Calvary Chapel, but has now fallen into Bethel.

About the Author:
“After 12 years as a Bible Teaching Pastor in the Calvary Chapel Movement my family and I moved to Redding California to plant our second church and found ourselves in the midst of a revival we had no idea existed. Although generally skeptical of the charismatic movement we could not resist the love that the people of Bethel Redding displayed throughout the city.One day while visiting the Bethel campus to pick up a schedule of services a complete stranger approached me and offered to heal my wrists. This person could not have known that my wrists were totally worn out and constantly sore from 25 years of carpet installing. My wrists were completely healed and are now pain free and stronger than ever.Minutes later as I drove away an angel of the Lord came into my car, sat on my lap and assisted me in pulling the car over to the curb. Then the angel moved over to the passenger seat and said nothing, then flew out the car and perched itself on a large rock on the hillside below the Bethel Prayer Chapel. This day was the real beginning of my journey into the supernatural Christian lifestyle.This book is a behind-the-scenes detailed account of what my wife and I had to work through spiritually, emotionally and biblically as the Lord divinely ambushed us and redirected our ministry, certain beliefs and our entire life.I have since traveled all over the world teaching on personal reformation sharing the gospel of the kingdom, healing the sick and delivering some from demonic oppression as I tell our own story. I am so grateful for the firm Biblical foundation I received from my years as a bible-teaching pastor in Calvary Chapel and I love the Jesus People Movement. Chuck Smith was no doubt one of God’s Generals. Becoming rooted and grounded in scripture is essential to a sustained Christian life and ministry of power. (Hunger Driven, Brian Nickens)

But Calvary Chapel will just laugh about Brian Welch and say, “Who has perfect theology?” and “He isn’t backing those dudes!” When he most certainly IS!!! He is promoting a book that is written by a man who is the “poster boy” of leaving conservative Bible teaching churches to lie on the floor after the prayer tunnel and have visions of falling gold dust and false prophecy.

Here is an article by Lighthouse Trails about Bill Johnson’s false teaching, and Bethel, Redding. “The New Age Propensities of Bethel Church’s Bill Johnson” and here is a list of false teachings of Bethel Redding, compiled by the blog My Word Like Fire, “Bethel Redding Snack Pack.”

Here is Brian hanging out with Joel Osteen’s mom, just a month and a half ago. Some of his fans tried to warn him that Osteen was a bad teacher too. They thought he would care!!! HAHA!!!!

An argument between the fans ensued, Brian kept silent.

FullSizeRender (3)

To Brian, a miracle is a sign of God’s favor. And she was miraculously healed. So who cares about the gospel.

So, invite Brian Welch into your church Pastor Raul, so that your flock will follow him on Facebook, and buy this book and then start listening to mystical/”prophetic” teachings by Bill Johnson. Why don’t you take your youth group go to the Korn/Zombie show this summer! Promote that music, under the guise of evangelism. Go ahead. What is the big deal? Go ahead and validate his ministry and let your flock believe that he is a solid Bible believing brother. Leaven never spreads. What harm can come of it? Right, Pastor?

I feel weird calling you pastor.

Because pastor means shepherd.

It implies you are doing your job.

“But if you will not listen to it, My soul will sob in secret for such pride; And my eyes will bitterly weep And flow down with tears, Because the flock of the LORD has been taken captive.”

Jeremiah 13:17

I guess what really matters to everyone else  is the “merch”

-brand new merch-merch bundles-

Shirts, books, posters, bracelets.

Trinkets, amulets, charms, relics, indulgences, idols. 

FullSizeRender (2)

This “merch” wont save you.

You can be walking around with a skull on your shirt and a bracelet that says Eyes Wide Open, feeling saved.

But does anyone have their eyes open?

And if they do, is there any excuse for this?

I saw a video today of wolves that entered a sheepfold and began to harm the sheep. It is terrifying. Someone was recording it, and not helping. Why didn’t they put the camera down and help? Eventually a sheepdog came in and began to fight the wolves. It is hard to watch. I think it is a good reminder, for people far removed from farm life to see the reality of the metaphor that Jesus gave us. When he calls false teachers entering the church “wolves” He does so for a reason. These are His sheep. These are souls we are talking about. They are precious to God. And if we love Him and we love them, we will be like the dog, and bravely protect the sheep until the wolves leave the fold.

We need to fully understand the metaphor, that Christ used, and we need to CARE.

“As a fellow elder, a witness of Christ’s sufferings, and a partaker of the glory to be revealed, I appeal to the elders among you: Be shepherds of God’s flock that is among you, watching over them not out of compulsion, but because it is God’s will; not out of greed, but out of eagerness;”

1 Peter 5:1-2

***Concluding Thought- I feel very sad writing this, because I got saved in Calvary Chapel. I still have this feeling like I should show deference to Pastor Raul Ries. But the truth is, if I don’t speak out the truth, it would be because of partiality. “Then Peter opened his mouth, and said, Of a truth I perceive that God is no respecter of persons” Acts 10:34

Romans 2:11 says, “For God does not show favoritism.”

James 2:9 says, “But if you favor some people over others, you are committing a sin.”

We are all accountable to the Scriptures. Even pastors.

The sad thing is–I shouldn’t have HAD to write this. 

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

117 Responses to Calvary Chapel Golden Springs Invites a Wolf to Teach the Sheep

  1. Anonymous says:

    Last hiker, a house divided cannot stand. Please don’t put God in a box.

    • Christians must call out sin in the church, and false teaching. If there is division, it is because someone deviates from scripture–that is what I am pointing out–that they split with scripture and we already ARE divided. Why pretend? Iron sharpens iron.

  2. Allen says:

    This man is a Babylonian priest of the highest order. He is dangerous. Great article, and I hope the sleepers wake up to the real truth about him. He is Nimrod.

  3. lindy says:

    I’m reading this and what is certain to me is that we are in the last days where many of the very elect will and are being deceived. This is very disheartening as I have been going to church at Calvary for many many years. We shall know them by their fruit. I am currently seeing some compromise at our church as well. I believe the true born again Believers will begin meeting in small groups again. Just as the early church. We need to stay in the Word, keep our eyes focussed solely on Jesus and ask the Holy Spirit to keep us from being deceived. Thank you for posting all you do. I read your posts a few years ago and I admit I disagreed with you. ive had a change of heart as our world fills with caous and evil and confusion. It’s taken awhile, but I do understand what you’re saying and I appreciate your boldness and agree with you wholeheartedly. Lord help us to know only Your truth no matter what. Lindy

  4. Gil says:

    Not sure what happened to Raul, but his brother Xavier is a true teacher of the word. No compromising at Calvery Chapel Pasadena…I urge you to visit CCP or its website to hear a Pastor feed his flock with the word of God.

Leave a Reply

