Wow, David Wilkerson Devotion — “Speak Unto Us Smooth Things”

I subscribe to David Wilkerson’s daily devotions. I love him. I love his heart for God, for people, and for holiness. I just finished reading today’s online devotion, and it was really powerful. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. God bless.

A man recently wrote the following to our ministry: “I don’t know who put me on your mailing list, but please remove my name immediately. I can’t stand your gloomy gospel and your hammering against sin. None of us is perfect, not even you. I’ve had it with your King James gospel of doom.”

Isaiah spoke of this kind of response: “This is a rebellious people, lying children, children that will not hear the law of the Lord: which say to the seers, See not; and to the prophets, Prophesy not unto us right things, speak unto us smooth things, prophesy deceits: Get you out of the way” (Isaiah 30:9-11).

The word “smooth” in this verse means “nice, flattery.” The people of Israel were saying, in short, “Don’t tell us any more bad stuff. Describe how we’re going to prosper, how great things lie ahead of us. If not, then get out of our faces.”

No believer who hides sin in his heart ever wants to hear a holy, sin-exposing word. That person will always flee the Holy Spirit’s voice of truth. And he’ll turn to some preacher who is soft on sin, offering smooth talk and flattering prophecies.

So, you ask, what hard message did God’s voice deliver to His people on Mount Sinai? He said simply this: “I am the Lord thy God, which brought thee out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage. Thou shalt have none other gods before me. Thou shalt not make thee any graven image. . . . Thou shalt not bow down thyself unto them, nor serve them” (Deuteronomy 5:6-9).

Here was the pure, unadulterated word of the Lord, coming directly from His mouth. It should have sent the people flying to their tents to smash their graven images. It should have stirred their hearts and brought them to their knees. But instead they cried, “No more thunder, fire, shaking. No more audible voice speaking to us. Give us a spokesman who is like us, and let him speak to us. Then we’ll hear and obey.”

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wow, David Wilkerson Devotion — “Speak Unto Us Smooth Things”

  1. J Reese says:

    Yes, and amen! I feel a great deal of grief over the flippant attitude toward sin, and the lack of desire for the Truth found in the Lord, and His Word…I know this fades in comparison to the grief this sinful creation causes our Messiah. Thank-you for your faithfulness to speak the strong words.
    …and an update, the Lord has been faithful to lead my steps since setting out on faith alone. I have found “my people, my country”, and it was nothing short of a miracle. So, for any who may also be “hearing” the call to” come out and be separate”, do not fear!! I know He is calling us to forsake our dependence upon “man’s” ways, and to follow as He leads us into His way.

    Shalom

  2. I too love David Wilkerson’s writings having received his monthly newsletters for over 30 years, and his daily devotions online. He was a humble servant of the Lord and a true prophet for our times. The reaction from the man who said David’s writings were a gospel of gloom is not surprising when you read what the Lord said about the last days. II Timothy 4:3-4 ” For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine, but according to their own desires, because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers; and they will turn their ears away from the truth, and be turned aside to fables.”
    II Peter 3:3-4 “Knowing this first; that scoffers will come in the last days, walking according to their own lusts, and saying, Where is the promise of His coming? For since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of creation.” NKJV

    • Hannah says:

      Are there any Prophets now? I ask because Hebrews 1 appears to confirm this.
      A friend used to give me her David Wilkerson newsletters for many years and I have recently been following his sermons on Youtube. His early ones seem more intense than the newest.
      I am just concerned when people call others “Prophets”.I do believe some can declare prophecy, but not be actual Prophets.
      I do also think that not many are giving his messages.
      BTW the Cross and the Switchblade is on Youtube and a very good movie.
      I remember I bought it some yrs back on VHS and when the part came where he goes into the “drug house”, I stopped it thinking my kids were too young. Never watched it beyond that point. Would have been good for the kids to see it, now in retrospect. I was so careful in those days..

      • Hannah says:

        PS. I meant to say “Hebrews 1 confirms that there are no longer any Prophets since Jesus.

        • I for one am very cautious of anyone who calls themselves a prophet. I think that is a HUGE red flag!!! David Wilkerson even said that he wasn’t saying that he was a prophet. But I do believe that he had the gift of prophesy. I think that Acts and the Epistles encourage us to pray for the gift of prophesy. But I think most people who walk around acting like they are God’s prophet are controlling, manipulative, false teachers.

          • Hannah says:

            Hi Last hiker! I was directing that to Kings daughter since she said that David Wilkerson is a Prophet. I don’t believe I have heard him call himself that but I haven’t listened to every sermon! Yes, it is an issue of pride with many Pastors. Someone told me that David W made a false prophecy some years back. They then said he was a false Prophet. When someone such as he is hearing from the Lord I suppose the enemy can use that gift and try and mess with it. Have you heard about the “Prophet” in P.R. – He is saying that a asteroid will hit P.R. in August. He has been giving what he calls prophecy since last year, First said it would happen after some mans death last June. Didn’t happen…

          • Hi, Last Hiker, and Hannah. I agree with both of you and I think I used the wrong word in calling David a prophet. I think he was more of a Watchman on the Wall and God gave him discernment to observe the times and warn the Church of what is coming. I read your posting about Bethel Redding and the New Age that has crept into our churches and it is sad but true. An Evangelical Presbyterian Church that we were members of back in the 1980’s (sounds so long ago now) had a turnaround when our young pastor went to Kansas City to take part in a Vineyard Movement. After returning he began telling us that we needed to see signs and manifestations, and to feel the Spirit moving among us. Some people began speaking in tongues but there was no interpretation of tongues. After about a year the church became a Vineyard Church and we left. About that time Rodney Howard Browne came to a church nearby and I went to his meetings twice, first with a friend, and then I took my husband so he could see it with his own eyes. People were laughing and he (Rodney) said he was the Holy Ghost Bartender. People were lining up at the front of the church and just falling backwards when he walked past them. It was a shameful display. There is so much apostacy going on in many churches now and I could go on and on about friends’ experiences with the Mega-Churches in our area. In the past we’ve had occasions to visit a few of them for concerts and “Christmas Spectaculars” and they don’t even feel like a church. They are called “Campuses” and we feel like we’re walking through a large hotel. I’m so grateful for this blog and others’ who are letting us know about things like Bethel Redding, and the Whosoevers.
            I’d never heard about any of this, and I appreciate your insight into the New Age propaganda that is in the films like Noah, Son of God, and Frozen. I always look forward to any new postings to see what you have to share with us about the things God is showing you. May God continue to bless you and give you His insight and discernment for our times. In His love, a daughter of the King.

        • MelissaBishop says:

          And what about Acts 2:…16but this is what was spoken of through the prophet Joel: 17’AND IT SHALL BE IN THE LAST DAYS,’ God says, ‘THAT I WILL POUR FORTH OF MY SPIRIT ON ALL MANKIND; AND YOUR SONS AND YOUR DAUGHTERS SHALL PROPHESY, AND YOUR YOUNG MEN SHALL SEE VISIONS, AND YOUR OLD MEN SHALL DREAM DREAMS; 18EVEN ON MY BONDSLAVES, BOTH MEN AND WOMEN, I WILL IN THOSE DAYS POUR FORTH OF MY SPIRIT And they shall prophesy.…
          Let’s not forget that, Jesus gave us Holy Spirit with whom we are able to do everything, Jesus did and more.

  3. I also love David Wilkerson – he’s a spiritual father to me! Thank you for posting this. God bless

  4. jujizig says:

    Not many David Wilkerson’s around these days, a few but not many…..Thanks for sharing I too have always loved his teaching….

  5. We got to attend Brother Dave’s church in his warehouse in Van’ Texas while we were in YWAM and Mick got to do some carpentry work on his house 0 he was the real deal – a weeping prophet! Lovely family too!

  6. James Mark Maxey says:

    I too have been subscribed to David Wilkersons monthly newsletters since 1991. I have always felt privileged that the Lord led me to his teachings of The Word of God.
    I can say that I have found that teaching, preaching, blogging, etc… that is based on the Word of God and what His scriptures are saying to us, will not be popular with this world, which is being deceived by the ruler of this world, which is Satan! It is written and it will be so.
    The Good News is we all know the end of the story as does Satan, and he looses!
    Jesus is The Mighty Warrior! He is the King of Kings and Lord Of Lords! ALL tongues will confess that HE IS LORD… I pray that many will be confessing this as they enter into His Kingdom rather than outer darkness.
    I’m posting my web page so you and others can have a look see. I share in the calling of ministry of the watchman I see here on this site, and thought you might be blessed by my page.
    http://jmmsteelsharpenssteel.com/index.html
    God Bless and keep speaking Truth! JMM

  7. I enjoyed this post very much. Thank you for sharing it.

  8. Tami Hudson says:

    There was nowhere to leave a comment on the blog about the Son of God movie. I have not seen the movie I have not heard enough reviews about but I can tell you that within 5 minutes of the Bible Deries that Roma Downey hosted I turn the TV off because I could not believe how much they had twisted the Word of God in 5 minutes.Several of my friends
    thought it was wonderful even though they know it twisted much of the Word of God I was absolutely taken aback by those comments I appreciate the blog and wonder what your views on God is Not Dead before I go to view it.

Leave a Reply

