“I Know I Am in Sin, But I Still Pray Everyday”

Have you ever heard someone say, “I know I am not living right, but I still talk to God everyday” or “I know I am sinning, but I still pray.”

Have you ever said that?

You know, the people who post drunk pics on Facebook on Friday, then check in at church on Sunday. The women living with their unsaved boyfriends, but sharing inspirational Bible Verse Memes weekly.

“Yeah, I know I am not right with God, but I still pray”

This is such a sensitive issue, because we are getting into all kinds of internal secret places of the heart, where only God knows the truth.

But we live in a world of self-deceived people,

People who walk according to their lusts, and think they are still okay with God.

And we are ALL tempted to do this from time to time.

I am tempted to do this from time to time.

But the truth is, if we are honest . . . we know we can’t have fellowship with God while we are bowing down to our idols.

It is impossible.

It is a lie.

They are lying to themselves, to us, and to God.

Jesus says, “No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon.” Matthew 6:24

You cannot walk in darkness and have fellowship with the Light.

We have to choose.

We cannot serve God and Mammon.

And sometimes the choice is that we bring our idols into our temple and tell ourselves, “Well I still worship God, I just like this or that now too . . .”

And we say, “this or that does not mean I don’t love God.”

“I still pray . . .”

/Like pagans who have many gods . . ./ 

Oh, Lord please break my heart over my idolatry.

Lord, please give me an undivided heart.

Lord, give me the desire to crush my idols.

We cannot have both.

We must choose this day Whom (whom) we will serve.

Will we serve the LORD, or self?

Will we choose the Spirit, or the flesh?

David knew this, and he cried out “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me:” Psalm 66:18

Regard iniquity or CHERISH sin

Wow . . .

If I cherish sin in my heart, the LORD WILL NOT HEAR ME.

It really says that.

There is NO POINT to praying, when He is not your REAL GOD.

You might as well call praying /talking to yourself/

Let us do a heart check right now.

Lord, please show us if we are cherishing iniquity!!!

Please bring to our minds the things that you are not pleased with.

What grace, for Him to hide himself when we cherish sin.

Maybe we will notice . . .

Maybe we will miss Him . . .

Maybe we will repent and come back and be right . . .

That is grace.

He doesn’t fake it with us or pretend we are okay to keep sinning.

His Spirit convicts us and if we ignore Him, that is a choice we make.

But we can’t just lie to ourselves and everyone else.

We can’t just say that we are in sin but we still pray.

Who are we praying to?

We can’t just lie to the Holy Spirit.

And say, I can do what I want and still hang out with you . . .

I mean, Who are we praying to?

We don’t listen, but we want to talk to Him?

I am undone.

I need an undivided heart.

“Teach me your way, LORD, that I may rely on your faithfulness; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.” Psalm 86:11

 Then I will give them one heart, and I will put a new spirit within them, and take the stony heart out of their flesh, and give them a heart of flesh,” Ezekiel 11:19.

Be not deceived.

We cannot have both.

And waiting  a little longer to get right with God is a choice to not get right with God.

What do you love more than God?

Is it really worth it?

It will kill you, you know.

The Lord hates our idolatry, and our claim to still be close to Him. In Ezekiel 8, the LORD takes Ezekiel and shows him the hidden idolatry that the people had brought into the temple. They wanted BOTH. God and idolatry. They thought that they could have both. We think that we can have both. We do not “hate” Jesus. We just want Him, and a little something else. Combining it all, in a fancy temple.

So God showed Ezekiel the /abominations/ in the temple.

And God said, “Have you seen this, O son of man? Is it a trivial thing to the house of Judah to commit the abominations which they commit here? For they have filled the land with violence; then they have returned to provoke Me to anger. Indeed they put the branch to their nose.  Therefore I also will act in fury. My eye will not spare nor will I have pity; and though they cry in My ears with a loud voice, I will not hear them.”

Lord, I don’t want to make you furious.

I don’t want to be swept away in lies and lusts.

I don’t want to cry out to you in a loud voice even, and you not hear me.

This is a serious issue.

We need to give Him the proper seat in our lives LORD and Savior.

LORD

and Savior.

Let’s pray for each other.

 

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to “I Know I Am in Sin, But I Still Pray Everyday”

  1. REPENT – God doesn’t promise to “hear” prayers of those living in sin. “If I regard inequity in my heart the Lord will NOT hear me…” 6.Psalm 66:18
    If I regard iniquity in my heart, The Lord will not hear. Time is SOOO short – great piece and hope many are reading and listening… to the Holy Spirit.

  2. Excellent post. It is what the body of Christ MUST HEAR! We must walk in sincerity to the truth. God will not be mocked or ridiculed. For whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. For he that soweth to this flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption, but he that soweth to the Spiriit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting Galatians 6:7-8. Let us pray for one another. Thank you for the exhortation.

  3. Adam says:

    Walking in sin, not only hurts our Father in Heaven very much, but by the same token, it grieves the HOLY SPIRIT. We forget it cost the Father and His Son dearly to give us the Holy Spirit, Christ’s death on the cross. It is bad enough that sin crouches at our door daily ready to trip us up and for us to willfully sin only adds fuel to the fire. So what is the answer to confronting this dilemma we call sin.
    1. As God to help us stand against our enemy each day.
    2. Read His Word each day.
    3. Pray for victory in everything we face.

  4. J Reese says:

    It is wonderful to read your posts, and find such confirmation of what the Lord is doing in His people. Repentance hurts, it is a deep sorrowful experience, and brings us to the place of complete and utter humility, because we have been shown by the Spirit our wretchedness. We also find here His mercy beyond measure. Love for Him becomes our passion, pleasing Him through obedience (just as a small child loves to please their parents).

    Come out from among them, and be separate is literal. We chose daily who we serve..it is either self (ie..the devil, and his deception) or we forsake self, and chose to live by faith alone.

    I am now on my “journey”, as your friend did a few weeks ago. Forsaking all for the walk of faith. Faith does not have a plan. Daily He leads, and daily I will follow. I probably won’t be using my computer much longer, and will miss the testimony of your blog. It has been wonderful to encounter you!

    Blessings of our Father be upon you, and Shalom.

  5. James Mark Maxey says:

    This blog is spot on and this type of message is what the people who hear and are moved by the Gospel message of Jesus Christ need to know and be discipled with!
    I have just been through a similar refining fire myself and know this to be true.
    It is good to see a confirming message come from one who obviously hears what The Spirit is saying to the Church! God bless you sista!

    • Thank you James. Refining is worth it; isn’t it?! God bless.

      • James Mark Maxey says:

        Upon reading some other replies around your site I saw where you obviously have read and been mentored by David Wilkerson’s teachings. Such a tragic death by the way… but I too have been a supporter of his ministry and receive the news letters that have gone out for over a couple decades! Very cool that we share that! In His Service – mark

  6. Jeri says:

    Such a powerful and timely word, in a season when many ministers and teachers are excusing open and blatant sin, saying it really doesn’t matter what you do after you get saved, because after you get saved, no matter what sins you commit, they continue to be covered because of grace. Yes, we are told in the scriptures that if we sin, we have an advocate with the father, Jesus Christ the righteous. Sure…if we do stumble or even if people yield to temptation, God will forgive us, but it is not to be the pattern of our lives after we come to know Jesus .He said that the one who keeps His commandments, is the one who loves Him. Most sin is the result of misplaced Love for God and people

    • So true, grace does not save us so we can continue in sin. Grace sets us free from sin. And yes, we will always mess up, but there is a difference between falling into sin and asking sin to move into your life and take residence!!! God bless you Jeri.

  7. lyn says:

    This is very good, thank you. Too many Christians are making excuses for their sins. We are called to mortify sin, to kill it, to put it to death! Not cuddle it, cherish it or make excuses. Enough scriptural references have already been provided, so I need not repeat what’s already been said.

    The one battle I’ve had with many is the ‘same sex attraction’ sin. This is a lie, this is using worldly terminology to disguise lust. That’s what homosexuals do, they lust after the same sex. Then, they turn around and re-define this sin as a less offensive ‘attraction’. They insist this isn’t sin, even though the thought life is exposed as sinful in Isaiah 55:7, Matthew 5:28, 15:19, and Colossians 3:5. Nick Roen, a homosexual who claims to be a Christian, put up a post at Piper’s ‘Desiring God’ blog, in it he states, ” I have experienced exclusive same-sex attraction (SSA). Despite counseling and countless prayers, God has not seen fit to change my orientation.” { from http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/an-alternative-script-for-same-sex-attraction}
    Right away, I noticed how he re-defines his sin to make it less offensive. He calls it ‘ssa’, and he blames God for not seeing fit to change his ‘orientation’. Nick lusts after men, he is in sin. He points the finger back at God, like Adam did in the garden when he blamed God for giving him Eve. It’s man’s sinful human nature that causes him to deny sin, along with man’s natural love of sin. To do as Roen has stated in his post is to remain in your sins, which will lead to him perishing in them. This is what many don’t seem to get, God is NOT going to play with sin,and neither should we.

  8. Rachel says:

    Last hiker, I recently found your blog and I really enjoy it. Thank you for speaking truth in love. I also enjoy the encouraging followers who comment. Therefore, I would ask for your prayers and those of any fellow brother or sister in Christ who feels led. Your post has hit me dead on. I have wrestled with this for years and at times, I get a leg up. But it never fails, the devil lays the trap and into it I go. I have prayed a lot about it. I’ve confessed to others who pray for me. And still in the pivotal moment of choice, I rationalize how this is ok and not really that big of a deal. I feel like it’s the sticky black stuff on spiderman. I can’t seem to turn completely away from it on a permanent basis. I prayed that God would break my heart over it and give me the courage to crush it. I truly thank you in advance for your prayers.

    • Rachel, I hear you. I know what that is like. There are two verses that have helped me deal with this exact thing.

      1.) “For sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace.” Romans 6:14. Which means that God has set me free from slavery to my sins. I had to realize that the chains were broken. I still was tempted, but I didn’t HAVE TO give in. God provides an escape, but we have to CHOOSE the escape. In that moment we must in FAITH make the choice to resist. “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” 1 Cor. 10:13

      2.) The second thing that has helped me is the knowledge that IN my struggle with sin, God is teaching me some things. He is teaching me that in my own strength I cannot have victory. He is teaching me to call upon Him to help me fight my temptations, and He is teaching me how to do battle. In Judges 3 we find out that God has allowed some enemies that remain in the land to attack the children of Israel. He allowed it, because these were the children of those who had fought the first wars. God doesn’t take our temptations away, because He wants us to learn how to fight them, in Him–just like they needed to learn how to fight for themselves. “Now these are the nations which the Lord left, that He might test Israel by them, that is, all who had not known any of the wars in Canaan (this was only so that the generations of the children of Israel might be taught to know war, at least those who had not formerly known it).” Judges 3:1-2. Each generation needs to learn to fight. Each person needs to learn how to fight. It isn’t enough for us to be inspired by the holiness of those who went before us. We need to each conquer our own territory.

      Knowing this is encouraging. Because we know that God is for us. He isn’t expecting us to fail disapprovingly, He is waiting for us to learn to get it right. To learn to call out to Him. To long to fight for our own victory. This is a VITAL part of the process of sanctification. And it cannot be skipped. There is no shortcuts!!! Be encouraged sister. Believe that He will help you. Believe that He will give you victory, and walk into it like a brave warrior. God bless you.

      I am going to pray for you. Please also pray for me.

      God bless you!!!

      • L. Davis says:

        Amen! So true, and please pray for me. This article is so beautiful! Thank you Last Hiker, and I am praying for Rachel as well. We can do all things through Christ who strengthens us, and it’s by his Spirit, as we yield daily our wills to his. To love him is to deny ourselves the pleasures of sin that last only for a season. I’m praying for a steadfast undivided heart to continue in his love on this long and narrow road.

        “Faith is the victory that overcomes the world”, even the worldliness not yet purged from our hearts as we seek God’s will to be done in our earthen vessels. The Refiner will purge, or scourge, every son and daughter who comes to him, and I love him for it. God is no longer winking at sin. We have to pray as David, “search me O Lord, and see if there be any wicked way in me.” And, I’ve learned that when he does search us, we must be prepared to allow the work of sanctification to be complete.

        I will encourage all, no matter what, don’t give up on coming after God with all your heart: even when it seems fruitless. God knows when we are sincere, and he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him; who seeks after his righteousness. Truly, “Blessed is he who overcometh…” Purify our hearts o Lord, til Christ be formed in us.

  9. Kris says:

    Here are some other great verses on this topic: 1 John 1:6 “If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth.” 1 John 2:4-5 “The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him; but whoever keeps His word, in him the love of God has truly been perfected. By this we know that we are in Him.” 1 John 3:6 “No one who lives in him keeps on sinning. No one who continues to sin has either seen him or known him.” Titus 1:16 “They claim to know God, but by their actions they deny him. They are detestable, disobedient and unfit for doing anything good.”

  10. Evan says:

    This warning from the Apostle Paul is ever before me so I cannot claim ignorance and reminds me of the dreadful consequences of habitual sin. Perhaps it will help others too – to be mindful of their walk.
    Therefore, brothers and sisters, we have an obligation-but it is not to the flesh, to live according to it. For IF you live according to the flesh, YOU WILL DIE; but IF by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, YOU WILL LIVE (Rom 8:12-13).

    These verses describes the potential death of born-again believers, referred to as the brethren in v. 12. If this death were not a real possibility, the warning would be nonsensical. We also know that this warning pertains to spiritual death – not physical death – because everyone dies physically irrespective of how we live our lives. Moreover, one must have spiritual life in order to be in danger of spiritual death. You cannot threaten a spiritually dead person with spiritual death. Such a person is already dead. Therefore, it must be concluded that these are regenerate brethren who are being warned of dying. Also note that these verse are conditional – not unconditional – as indicated by the word “if.” IF those believers walk according to the flesh, they will die. IF those believers walk according to the Spirit, they will live.

    Some may object and point to Rom 8:1 claiming that this verse plainly states that there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. To do so however is to ignore the context of the surrounding verses as v.4 also states: “in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us, WHO WALK NOT ACCORDING TO THE FLESH BUT ACCORDING TO THE SPIRIT. This is consistent with Paul’s warning in v.13.

  11. Del says:

    The Lord has blessed me with a bible study group that were non-believers as well as backsliders. I started a bible study with 4 non believers and the number grew. One non believer used to tell me, I didn’t really need to go to church, I talked to god everyday, for as long as I am not doing anything wrong, I know I am ok with god. One said, oh I know I sin everyday, but I talked to god. I heard He is a loving God, right? A back slider said, I have been hurt by the church, I’m better off just praying at home, I talked to Him all the time, but it’s hard for me to forgive those who hurt me. I said, if we are really talking to God not god, we will hear Him talk back to us and tell us things about Him that will change our views in life from being self centered to Christ centered. Talking to Him and telling Him are two different things in my opinion. Talking to Him is a conversation between God and the person, Telling Him is a one way conversation. And I let my group know, that if they believe that they are talking to Him and are not changing in their lifestyle that they aren’t really talking to Him but rather telling Him, telling God what they feel like doing and that they will do it anyway. A regular conversation with God softens our hearts to the things that please, honor and glorify Him. A conversation with Him, becomes a moral compass to us. Telling God not talking to God builds pride instead of humility. I have had the privilege to let people who use this phrase know, that it’s a lie. You can’t talk to God and remain in your sinful lifestyle. It’s humbling to go before The Lord, something happens when we talk to Him, but nothing happens when we tell Him. For a non believer talking to god, while that might be true, but what god is it? So, first one has to be sure that it’s Jesus that they are talking to, that Jesus is The Lord of their life by making a profession and confession that He is their Lord. I told them everybody seems to be talking to god nowadays, but, what god are they talking to makes a big difference. If lifestyle is not changing, they might not be talking to God but rather to a god. Jesus changes lives! And truly enough, they have discovered that He does change life. Once they accepted Jesus as their Lord and Savior, there is a power that happens in their conversation, conviction happens to turn away from sin, and conviction happens what sin is. I don’t think anyone can go and talk to God and not change. It’s a phrase stubborn hearts use to fool themselves for their own detriment. I pray that we will meet many of those people and that we become a light to them and lead them to the truth.

  12. Hello there I thank you for this post. I am in the midst of being deceived by the devil right now. And the deception of false grace. At this point I have seen how hypocrite I am in the eyes of God. I always tell my self that I God will forgive that I no longer step up in the next level which is repentance. The Spirit of God convicts my heart so bad. I just wanna cry right now, and bow down and be true on asking for His genuine attention for I have forsaken Him by accompanying the idol inside. This message is such a revelation, rhema and turning point in my life. I tend to worry for the future but I know If I’ll surrender a holy and committed life to Him, He wont fail me. Please do continue to pray for me that I may grow in Christ.

    • JO says:

      We always have the choice to repent (turn, leave, walk away from) of that which we know breaks God’s heart… and be forgiven… HE will help us walk His path and leave a lift style of sin behind… we CAN walk in victory and freedom….so thankful to Jesus for paying the price for my (our) liberty…and when we are weak? He will carry us through. But He did not die so that we could keep on in a lifestyle of sin, HE died to set us captives FREE from sin and death… When we do stumble, HE is faithful and just to forgive… HE did not die so we can say a few words and go on sinning in “thought, word and deed” daily… there is no freedom in that lifestyle. Praising Him for deliverance and liberty…

  13. Linnie says:

    As I read this I knew in my heart was not right with God. It hasn’t been for ages. Now the hard part is humbling myself to seek the Lord. I have sinned and hurt a lot of people because if my selfishness and Pride. I’ve not loved when I had the opportunity to…how do I sincerely repent and turn from sin???

Leave a Reply

