Growing

I was just telling my mom this morning that I have been learning so much this year. I have grown. It hasn’t been what a lot of Christians talk about in Bible studies or retreats. It isn’t the sweet sappy slogans that post on Facebook. God has been teaching me a lot about dealing with difficult people. I have already learned to turn the other cheek, and as much as depends on me, live at peace with all people.

Actually, I didn’t have to learn it so much as it was my default.

This goes both ways

I hate conflict. I hate confrontation. I carry a white flag everywhere I go. You can cut in front of me in line, and I will smile and say excuse me for being in your way. People can boss me around. I will just try to be nice. Maybe that will fix the problems in our relationship?

If not . . .

I will try harder.

I will people please.

I will lie down all my rights.

It is easier that way.

I have done this consistently in an effort to be loved and accepted by family in-law. And yet, there are some people that you can’t change, no matter how nice you are. And when they see you roll over like a submissive hound and show your belly, they will kick you even more.

The Lord has shown me that what I have been doing not only isn’t working, it isn’t really even godly. It is cowardly.

So this year, we had a falling out in our family. I wrote about it. And God really began to show me so many things through that experience. He showed me that it wasn’t my fault that these people were they way they were. I didn’t do anything to cause it. I had been respectful and forgiving, and compliant and I had tried over and over to make peace and be kind. But it would never be enough.

In order to maintain the relationship I would have to lay down all personal boundaries and allow them to treat me even worse. Even to the point of allowing abuse, and acting like nothing was wrong.

In my first attempt at self defense. My first time I stood up and said no, that I wasn’t going to put up with it anymore– they cut me off. I was called a bad Christian. And I was told that they would never forgive me for being so disrespectful. I was made into the villain, and they were obviously the victims. The whole family was turned against me. And they are waiting for me to come crawling back, apologize for not going with the flow, and start telling them how wonderful they are again (then maybe they might forgive me, but it will take time, and they might not ever get over it).

I didn’t know what to do, I went to the Lord. And He gave me so much wisdom from His Word. He told me that I couldn’t fix it. He gave me the story of Uzzah who, when the ark was falling off the oxcart reached out his hand to prevent it all from crashing down. The Lord told me that if I reach out and try to fix this, that I would be the one destroyed. He told me that He has the power to not let this crash down, but He is allowing it. He protected me.

So I have been waiting.

And not just sitting here. I have been studying. Listening to Bible studies about relational difficulties, reading books about boundaries, and dealing with controlling people, I have spent hours dissecting Bible stories and verses about how to do the right thing when it comes to these situations.

Isn’t if crazy though, how the church can be so silent on dysfunctional families?

How you can go to church every Sunday, and just be told to just be a people pleaser.

As if Christian=nice

only?

As if Jesus never had problems with people?

As if Jesus never stood up to people, and told them no.

It is okay to say no.

It is okay to not be bullied and controlled by people.

I just never hear that at my church.

Thank God, I read the Bible on my own, at home.

I can remember one time, a few years ago when we were invited to a family gathering and an abusive member of our family was going to attend. We had a no contact rule with this family member, but our family invited him anyway and then expected us to compromise our rule and come. “Nothing will happen! We are at a restaurant!” I was told the choice to go was up to me, and I was also told how very important it was that we were going.

I freaked out.

That is what happens when you feel forced into situations that scare you. Can I really tell them no–we won’t go spend time with an abusive family member???

I opened my Bible, begging God to show me what to do.

My Bible opened to John 7. It was a section of Scripture where Jesus was pressured by his family to go to a feast. But he said no. He did not allow their pressure and intimidation to control his choices.

Now the Jews’ Feast of Tabernacles was at hand.  His brothers therefore said to Him, “Depart from here and go into Judea, that Your disciples also may see the works that You are doing.  For no one does anything in secret while he himself seeks to be known openly. If You do these things, show Yourself to the world.” For even His brothers did not believe in Him.

Then Jesus said to them, “My time has not yet come, but your time is always ready.  The world cannot hate you, but it hates Me because I testify of it that its works are evil.  You go up to this feast. I am not yet going up to this feast, for My time has not yet fully come.” When He had said these things to them, He remained in Galilee. (John 7)

When I read that, I literally started jumping on my bed. How does that happen? How do you open the Bible and find an obscure verse that just specifically lets you off the hook like that?! I was blown away. The Bible truly is living. The Bible is amazing. God is amazing.

I think the thing that we forget is that God does not want the wicked to hurt the weak and oppressed. He is their defender.

The wonderful thing too, is to be able to recognize manipulation in other people (not just my family in-law). I am so thankful for this knowledge. Because there are situations that occur now, where I can see that this person is clearly trying to make me feel bad so they can get their way. Before, I would have felt bad for them, and tried to make them happy. Now I realize that I have a choice. I don’t have to say yes to everything. I don’t have to feel bad. I have the responsibility to make my own choices.

Last week I posted a blog article on “The Son of God” movie. Now, my blog doesn’t get too much traffic. I started writing this as a simple outlet. I simple way for me to express the things that the Lord was showing me and the issues that are important to me. I am passionate, and I need to get it out.

Well, for some reason one of my blog posts went viral. I then had people from all walks of life wanting to say their peace. For the most part, it was wonderful. I have had the sweetest fellowship, reading the profound things that come out of the mouths of my brothers and sisters in Christ. I am so thankful that people took the time to leave comments. What a blessing!!!

Then there were a couple people that cussed me out or told me I was demon possessed.

There were also people who just wanted to argue. Now, I am all for people who don’t agree with me; I am able to have a kind and respectable discussion with decent people who disagree with me. I posted many comments from people who wanted to discuss their opinions and we were able to talk about it. I can take correction, I can look back and evaluate my tone, and I can disagree with people in a respectful way, etc.

But there were a few other people that were a bit more aggressive. I noticed this one person began to leave over 5 comments an hour. I woke up one night and I saw that not only had he left comments all day long, but he was leaving comments all night long too. It was kinda creepy. Doesn’t this person sleep? Doesn’t he have other interests? Why does he care so much about what I wrote? He tried to leave over 60 comments. I posted 6 of them, but then I just didn’t have enough time to go round and round with him.

So then, he started to try to manipulate me into letting him just argue and say all kinds of mean things to other people on the blog. He started saying that I only post comments that agree with my opinion (which isn’t true). And I am hiding his comments. He tried to make me feel ashamed and guilty for not posting his point of view (when I already had). He has called me a pharisee, a whitewashed sepulcher, a hysterical angry pessimistic false prophet.

A year ago, it would have really bothered me. I would have been hurt, offended, apologetic, and compliant. But now, I can see what is going on. This person is just trying to make me feel bad so he can have some influence over what is going on on my blog. Instead of just walking away, and allowing me to have a different opinion than he does. But the thing is, this is MY blog. It is okay for me not to publish every comment!!! I don’t owe him an excuse, for not publishing his 60+ disparaging comments. I don’t feel bad at all.

Today, I was reading an article on Narcissists (my family in-law happens function a lot in this type of behavior). I was learning a lot. For those of you who don’t know what a narcissist is, it isn’t just someone who thinks they are the bees knees. It is a bully. A controlling, manipulative, mean person. They lie and twist the facts. Hurt you and then play the victim. They make you crazy.

Anyways, I was reading through this writers blog, and I came to an interesting post. It had to do with her policy on comments. Think about it, a woman who writes a blog about narcissism and how to escape the control, guilt and manipulation of people–having to deal with manipulation in her comments section! The irony!  Well, what she said made me smile so big! It was rather bold, but it is funny because she calls it what it is.   She said:

I just want those of you who are offended by my frankness to  let you know something about me. Writing to me in the comments that you are no longer going to comment on my blog is not perceived by me as a threat nor a punishment. This blog is not going to deteriorate in quality just because you no longer deign to grace it with your comments. Neither are you going to make me feel like a bad person because you’re offended. I’m not going to suddenly throw my arms up and give in just to make sure no one out there thinks less of me.

Apparently, it isn’t evident to some that I am impervious to such manipulations via guilt and shame. All you will do is make me think less of you for trying to punish me for simply holding a contrary opinion to your own.

Ah, yes, I can hear the denials that the intent is to punish me, but I would call such denials lies.

Because if you weren’t trying to punish me then you’d simply shut up with not another word said. You would not send in ONE LAST COMMENT to make sure I KNOW that your silence is filled with your opprobrium. This method has been used on me frequently enough over the years that it simply makes me roll my eyes. It is not my problem if you are so easy to offend. Especially since I am obviously not trying to offend.

I was an owner of a ladies-only religious group for three years. This is where I was first confronted by this method of attempting to control me and what I say. I am pretty sure it has only been women who have tried this method of control on me. IT WON’T WORK. It has never worked. You’re not so important that it’ll suddenly start working because you’re doing it.

Here’s the deal with me. I am not here doing what I do because I need attention or praise. I’m neither elated by your praise nor dejected by your censure. This is not a work of ego. I don’t need other people’s approval for the opinions I hold, nor do I relinquish my opinions simply because someone doesn’t like them. Think about it. I have successfully gone “no contact” with my parents for years now. My sister too. Do you really think that your disapproval of me means anything??

So, if you plan to fire off that last comment telling me you won’t be commenting anymore please take in the above. You haven’t unsettled me. You haven’t changed my mind. I don’t feel like I’m “bad” because your knickers are in a twist. I think less of you, not myself, for your petty little attempt to control and/or manipulate and/or punish me. If you wanna dress me down then have the courage to send that message in an email where you can run the risk of having to hear back from me. Putting in a comment you feel pretty sure that I won’t put through means you want the last word with out giving me any opportunity to discuss the matter with you privately. This is another indication that you’re trying to punish me and not behave like an adult with another adult.

Just so’s ya’ll know the score. I think I’ll be tacking this onto my comment policy for future reference since this scenario pops up like a perennial weed. (Anna Valerius)

When I read that, did I get offended? No, I realize that I was on this woman’s blog and she has some boundaries. You know what? I respect her ability to articulate her boundaries. I appreciate the way she delineates between a commenter having a different opinion, and a commenter trying to manipulate and intimidate the blog owner into rolling over like a submissive dog.

Well you would think that her tone and  demeanor would turn away people from reading her blog or hearing her heart. But to me it was the opposite. I realized that she is a strong and smart individual, who isn’t going to compromise her beliefs or be wishy washy with people who visit her page. If I disagree with some things she says, I don’t feel like I must take over her blog, via the comments section and right all the wrongs in the universe!

Anyways, like I said the Lord is teaching me to wait on Him. To not allow people the power to hurt my or my children with their sinful natures. There are consequences when we hurt people. One of those consequences is broken relationships. Sometimes people need to learn. I am not doing my family any favors by getting in the way of them learning this lesson.

When we sin against the Lord, we also damage our relationship with Him, and we don’t have the same intimate fellowship we once had. Consequences and the loss of fellowship are Biblical.

All the other stuff, the comments on my blog post, the pressures from people to do this or that–small potatoes. But I am still happy that God is giving me clear vision.

It frees me up to focus on the things He has placed before me. The fear of man is a snare and a curse. But the fear of God is the beginning of wisdom.

I don’t want to sit on the merry-go-round of crazy. I don’t want to keep going around and around in an endless cycle of family dysfunction. There needs to be real repentance. I can’t let this stuff keep hurting our family (our children).

I am choosing freedom in Christ.

But the freedom isn’t from not having conflict in my life anymore.

Conflict will still come into my life.

But there is a deep freedom in being able to see controlling behavior for what it is, and make a choice.

Freedom of knowing that Jesus didn’t ask me to fix dysfunction.

He won’t even do that, until the people are ready and willing.

I am grown.

I am a grown woman.

I don’t want to act like a scared little girl anymore–giving into controlling and mean people, and subjecting my children to further dysfunction.

What would be godly about that?

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Growing

  1. planggle says:

    I am so grateful the Lord is teaching you these things. What a blessing to hear directly from Him. You are seeking out the Truth and being freed by Him! Hallelujah! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  2. EmBe says:

    I look back to when I found this last week, and how, and after reading this post, I’m in absolute shock in how similar our views are regarding several subjects that you outlined in this post, and wanted to say congrats on yet another great post.

    • Thank you EmBe. I am so happy that you left me a comment. I looked at your blog and your lasagna looks heavenly!!! It looks like you are VERY gifted in the kitchen. I like how your blog has spiritual journaling combined with delicious recipes. God bless.

  3. We Love your posts, and the fact that you have been persecuted for your Biblical stance is absolutely proof that the wicked spirits in others is at war with the Holy Spirit in you. Weird demons operating through and in people leaving all kinds of negative creepy comments, family members rejecting the Spirit of Christ in you, etc., all stands to reason because you my friend are exposing the lies and kingdom of the Evil Ones. This is typical common demonic behavior, we get it all the time also, as well as other warriors out there in these last times. Be strong and of good courage in the Lord your Messiah and stay focused on the WORD of God, as you already are.

    -Paul & Linda, KAPOW Radio Show Network

    • Hi Paul and Linda,

      Yes, the enemy is involved in all of the chaos and dysfunction that has been going on in my family (even through professing Christians). The warfare gets very thick at times too. He doesn’t like to be exposed, especially when we are calling out secret abuse. I have literally seen demons growl at me from inside the dangerous young man. Thank you for your encouragement be strong and of good courage and focused on the Word. The Lord is our only strength. God bless.

  4. Karen says:

    I found your blog because of the Son of God movie comments. I didn’t comment then but looked at your posts and started following. God is growing you up and you are encouraging others through this blog. Keep pressing on! My prayers are with you.

  5. Jeri says:

    So glad I found your blog. First one was about the movie. I agree with you, and find it hard to believe that people that are suppose to have some spiritual maturity, have so little discernment, and actually forsake all the teaching of the Word, to follow another path. I have been down some of the same paths as this blog describes. I am a great grandmother, and have proven over and over that Jesus never fails, and the teaching of His word will give us the answers we need…the gold we are to buy, by doing just what you are doing…digging it out…Precious! God Bless You.

  6. Mary Taylor says:

    I’m also glad I found this blog.

  7. Nadine says:

    My comment would be almost like EMBE above. I followed a link about the movie. I wanted to hear some comments on the subject, I was in agreement with you on the Bible series. I had told my daughter there was some areas that were not scriptural but I have to confess I was one of the ones you were talking about thinking it a tool God could use . Now I see as you pointed out ( and I know very well) truth mixed with lies bring errors and false teachings. In this day and time Lines need to be drawn. Thank you. Now about the comment above, I wanted to see who and what you were about so I searched your other links and found you liked one my favorite books Hinds Feet. This is one of my favorites because the Spirit of The Lord led me to this book in a book Store I wasn’t very impressed as I thumbed through this plain looking book. I put it back on the shelf but some time later it was back in my hands. I commented to my friend I didn’t want this book as I had unintentionally had it when I went to purchase other books. At this time we were attending a church that the Gift of Prophesy was working and the visiting preacher came to me and the words he said were, “Daughter, God wants to give you Hinds feet”,. Then he continues to tell me what it meant. Yes, the very next morning i went back to get that book and the Lord has blessed me so much by it’s message. I not so long ago ordered it for my Kindle.
    I went through some things with my family also, but I let peers from my church family hinder me.
    Long enough comment you keep writing and I will continue to read. Thanks again

  8. Tiffany says:

    Amen, sister. You go girl!

  9. SANDI DOMES says:

    Well said, I totally agreed with your post on Son of God. I had posted on my face book my own warning about my concerns and one woman in particular got defensive and sent me a link to a Jim Baker interview of Roma Downey and her husband, I struggled through the clip and of course they defended them selves when Jim asked them if they had been accused of changing the word of God they adamantly denied it and used a portion from the original bible series wher a prophet killed a king and proudly said go read it you will see for your self, then they introduced the movie trailer. The two scenes they showed were both totally off, Jesus casually chatting it up to Peter , peter asking what Jesus was planning on doing, and Jesus saying he was going to change the world. NOT what happened at all, Peter follow me I will make you fishers of men. Then the Lazarus scene, oh my gosh, Jesus going into the tomb cradling Lazarus head in his hands and kissing him, seriously, Jesus did not go in the tomb he called Lazarus out and when he came out he had a burial cloth on his face. Now here is Jim baker his wife, Roma and her husband watching these two famous bible story and none of them noticed the discepancies, really. Do you think the enemy has blinded them. The woman in our church said I watched the clip and they seam really sincere, I told her of course the y do the enemy is a liar and deceiver. Then I asked her if she watched the clip and pointed out the difference. Did some research of my own as well. The university Roma went to is all new age, Hinduism Shamanism, Budhism, she is not a Christian. Have not heard back from her., several others I have shared my concerns and refered them to your blog and they just not want to hear. Time for heavy intercession, church wake up. Anyway, good on you keep writing for HIS Kingdom. God Bless you

  10. Jill says:

    Amen Sister!!! I want my 20 year old daughter to read this because this is such an age that wants to please. You are right churches don’t teach how to do this in a manner that is God pleasing. We
    must teach boundaries, biblical boundaries. Thank you for sharing. God be with you.

  11. Adam says:

    What a good reminder for us all. It seems like in this journey we call Christianity, there is conflict, strife, and contention at every turn. But it should be no surprise. The Lord gave us the solution to take His yoke day by day and we will be overcomers’. I also like the Apostle Paul’s admonition to us in 1 Cor 13 to (Agape) love no matter the circumstance. How I wish our Lord would of taken us out of this world the moment we were redeemed, but thank God that Jesus left us here to occupy until He returns for us. There is still work to be done by the power of the Spirit in us so we can reflect the love of Christ and win others to Christ. Yes there is much to do, as we love others, as Christ loved us. “PRAISE GOD”!

  12. No one says:

    I love your blog so much. You always have clarity and wisdom on things that masquerade as truth and light but are not. I’m proud of you for standing up to your family and protecting yourself and your children. And I love the story of the feast verse! I’ve been reading you for a year now and just think you’re a kindred spirit. Keep on keeping on!

  13. Brenda says:

    This was meant to remind me to stay strong and listen to what the Lord thinks and what He wants of me!!!! I have people in my life that are controlling and they are NEVER wrong in anything they do!! Constantly drain you of your talents, energy and finances without ever feeling the need to contribute back!! I’ve always been that peacemaker and door mat ( till the Lord delivered me)…so your writting
    was meant to keep me in check and with open eyes!!!!! THANK YOU FOR POSTING
    God Bless You

    Thank you so much for this post

  14. Jacqi says:

    WOW! This blog post couldn’t come at a more perfect time for me. In our family we have a manipulative, controlling, narcissistic personality who is very hard to communicate with. I thought to be a good Christian, I needed to help her and “show love” even when I knew she was wrong, or trying to manipulate a situation. It has been very tiring for many, many years. Just this weekend, I told my husband that because of a current family situation, I expect to hear from her very soon, begging me to help her essentially “get her way.” I said I just need to tell her no… that I can’t get involved anymore. While saying this to my husband, I still felt bad/guilty that I will be disappointing Jesus. Now I realize this is not true at all. God used your blog today to confirm what a few of my dear Christian friends have been telling me all along about letting go of toxic relationships. It’s time. It just completely clicked for me this morning. Thank you!!

  15. Anonymous says:

    That a girl!! I needed to read this. Sometimes our wisdom is attained from others trials. We have also gone through similar situations with family and friends and even some churches. Whenever we would speak up for ourselves we would always be made to feel guilty about doing so. Thank you for bringing so much to light.

  16. Elizabeth Laney says:

    I think people assume since we are Christians we should just roll over and let them walk all over us. NO! This is why our nation in in the mess it is because we have allowed them to make us feel guilty and shameful. Stand your ground and I appreciated all you wrote on the movie Son of God. I knew it wouldn’t match up with the bible. I do not plan on seeing it!

  17. Lorraine Roggie says:

    Love your blog. Found your blog through the Son of God comments. I’m so with you. We are to stand out and be a shining light for God. I would say the movie is like a wolf in sheeps clothing. It looks good, sounds good but if we keep digging we find out the truth. And that is what you did. Thank you!!” May God richly bless you!!

  18. Anonymous says:

    Ugh. The Lord is teaching me this. I can feel Him teaching me and knew he was speaking through every word and even before I read this….top it off…I’m working on memorizing this verse this week! I like verse 16 with it: “Now whenever anyone accepts the Lord, the veil is taken away” … I’m nervous to tell the truth. I hate it when people are disappointed in me …ugh. thankful, amazed at His care for me, and confident that I’m too weak to do this by myself. …boating of my weakness here :-)…thanks for sharing

  19. sara says:

    Thank you! So amazing to read this. God’s timing is perfect. I needed this – TODAY! My husband suffers from chronic pain, and tonight I was accused of being the reason that he suffering. I was told that God can’t heal him until I change. Hogwash! The person threw a bunch of random Bible verses at me and said I am disrespectful for the stand I take on different things, and the things I believe. Please keep sharing from your heart. God bless you.

  20. Pingback: Growing | Be Sober Be Vigilant

  21. Helene says:

    God Bless you and keep you safe! Thank you for sharing your journey so boldly. Carry on my dearest sister, in the only true loving God!

  22. Lori says:

    First I want to say to Sara, that I am so sorry you went through that from someone (I assume it was a church person since you said they threw Bible verses at you) and I recognize those kinds of attacks where someone feels they can speak into your life because they feel they are closer to God than you are. Its one of the lowest forms of attack to have someone use a false gift of prophecy on a person! And the fact that they blamed your husband’s illness on you is twice as horrible!

    I enjoyed reading this article and I especially liked the woman that was quoted who said: “Think about it. I have successfully gone “no contact” with my parents for years now. My sister too. Do you really think that your disapproval of me means anything??” I liked that because it is exactly what has sustained me for years anytime bosses or co-workers or family has tried to control me or put me down. I just simply remember that 1) because I have the Lord I am not alone and 2) I have never had the friendship or emotional support of my family and I have survived. So is this new situation going to make me cave and fall apart? NO! I remember two women who ganged up against me at one office job because they were sorry they had hired someone who followed Scripture instead of the current popular things of the world so they wanted to get me to quit by making me feel unwanted there, with one even saying “face it Lori you have no friends here”. But I didn’t care and it took all of the wind out of their sail! They were unable to bully me because it did not faze me in the least that they did not like me – I was too used to that from years of rejection from my family! I realized that in a weird way all of my experience in being shunned was actually helping me now to walk with the Lord rather than fall prey to worldly peer pressures. LOL

    I continue to run into narcissistic, controlling men and women, and I do get upset when I have to deal with them, but I draw firm boundaries and I don’t let them get into my personal life and that allows me to have a much more peaceful life because of it!

    God bless!
    Lori

  23. anonymous says:

    I truly believe God had me stumble upon your blog tonight. I’ve been struggling for a long while with a couple guilt giving manipulators…family members. Since putting my foot down and keeping personal contact at a minimum I have been feeling a bit guilty as they are angry with me. I don’t want to hurt them but can no longer deal with the stress their behavior brings. I found your blog tonight and feel the Lord has given the nod that it’s ok. This is a gift to me. Thank you for sharing your story

    • Hello, thank you so much for sharing that with me. God is soooooo good isn’t He? Giving us direction and clarity just when we need it. I am praying for you!!!! God bless!!!!

Leave a Reply

