Baptist pastor Matt McPhillips defends the biblical position that conversion requires repentance from SIN

Wow, I have been so grieved over my convictions lately. I just feel that so much of what we see being excused or allowed in the church today does not line up with what we see in the Bible of God’s heart. It isn’t just me! I had to reblog this. It is excellent. I want to print out these quotes and frame them on a wall in my house. Dear Lord, please give us undivided and repentant hearts.

Christians United Against Apostasy

(revised 02/11/14)

There is a debate going on today among Independent Fundamentalist Baptists, regarding the nature of conversion. Followers of Jack Hyles for example believe that when accepting Christ (becoming born again), one must repent. But they define “repentance” not as repenting of sin, but as turning from unbelief to belief.

Sorry, folks, repentance fromsin is essential. I came across the following Baptist blog detailing the need to repent from sin. Click here for the original source of this article. I am emphasizing certain points by bolding, and inserting comments in [brackets]. I am also adding some links and some images.

Bible Repentance

Here is a message on repentance in the life of a believer from a member of our church:

From Repentance to Revival

[and a sermon as follows]

The Baptist, Bible position on Repentance
by Pastor Matt McPhillips (Pastor from Port Huron, MI.)

I am going…

View original post 2,093 more words

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baptist pastor Matt McPhillips defends the biblical position that conversion requires repentance from SIN

  1. Anonymous says:

    I just love you website!Keep up the good work!
    May God Bless you -Sue

Leave a Reply

