Pain (and a little Psalm 6)

I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears. –Psalm 6:6

Why is it that when my heart breaks,

I feel it in my tummy?

That nausea,

sickness,

heaviness?

Pain that leaves you trapped.

You can’t leave.

You can’t change your circumstances.

So you wait for God to change people–

who do not want to change.

You wait.

In pain.

And the pain hurts worse,

When there was already a scar,

From the last time you were hurt,

in the same way,

But things got better,

But it happened again.

And the anger,

is there.

Bitterness too, now.

And then there is the fear,

What happens next?

How do I heal?

What if I never do?

What if things never change?

What if they get worse?

What if they get better,

but it doesn’t last?

Again.

What will become of me?

We have no control sometimes.

Sometimes we are very stuck.

With a lot of hurt.

And pain.

I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears.

Mine eye is consumed because of grief; it waxeth old because of all mine enemies.

Depart from me, all ye workers of iniquity; for the Lord hath heard the voice of my weeping.

The Lord hath heard my supplication; the Lord will receive my prayer.

Let all mine enemies be ashamed and sore vexed: let them return and be ashamed suddenly.

–Psalm 6:6-10

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pain (and a little Psalm 6)

  1. I feel that same way so often. 😦 Love the psalm at the end. It’s so encouraging (and perfect with this post). God truly does hear our prayers and will comfort us and give us the peace we need.

  2. George Susan says:

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

