“The Bible” Series on The History Channel–Turning the Word of God into Hebrew Myth

If you have read my first post on the History Channel’s new television series “The Bible” you already know where I stand on the series as a whole. I point out that the producers Mark Burnett and Roma Downey have lied in calling themselves Christians, while promoting the show. And they going to present a different “Bible” with a different gospel, and different Jesus.

You can read that here–“WAKE UP—Me Screaming, then Apologizing for Some Strange Reason

So I have NO desire to watch the show.

I don’t want to give it the benefit of the doubt.

And yet, I have watched it.

Not for entertainment.

But because I have this deep burden to see how much they get wrong.

There are a lot of people at my church that are not only enjoying this show, but promoting it.

I have dear, Jesus loving friends, who think it is Biblical.

I don’t want to fight.

But I just don’t get it.

So I am going to go over a few of the MAJOR discrepancies. There is honestly too many things that are seriously wrong with the show. I can’t write about them all, and I doubt anyone else would care to read all that! But I will stick to critiquing their presentation of four key characters–Moses, Samson, and Saul and David.

Let me begin by saying that my spouse and I sat on the couch last night watching this series, eating ice-cream, and we could not stop pausing the show to talk about how angry we were at things like Noah’s Ark that is barely sticking together, the burning bush that looks evil, the “angel of death” in Egypt that looks like the smoke monster from LOST, the fact that they changed EVERY story in the Bible to make God look like a jerk, and the fact that they took out EVERY spiritual, HOLY moment in the Word of God to replace it with proclamations of self confidence, pride, and bloodshed.

The Bible series makes our TRUE GOD look like a pagan deity.

The Bible series makes the actual Bible look like a “Clash of the Titans” remake.

And therefore, the History Channel has succeeded in making the Bible look like Mythology.

MOSES

Moses at Mt. Sinai.

The Bible says that he was a meek man. Meekness and humility defined his personality.

“Now the man Moses was very humble, more than all men who were on the face of the earth.” Numbers 12:3

When the HOLY God spoke to him from a burning bush, a cursory reading will show two basic things.

1.)God is HOLY– Take off our shoes, the ground you are standing on is holy ground.

2.) Moses was humble–Moses did not believe he could deliver God’s people.

Please read this IMPORTANT conversation:

Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant.

I am slow of speech and tongue.”

The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

But Moses said, “Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.” Exodus 4:10-14

This whole conversation would take less than one minute, but no. That is not okay with the producers of the show.

They had to replace it with the unbiblical scene (that eliminates the entire conversation with God and Moses)–using a creepy demonic looking fire coming from a tree, God telling Moses he will deliver his people, and then Moses (with all the bravado of John Wayne) saying with confidence and virility “I will deliver the people of God” (paraphrased).

But then, Moses goes into Egypt to deliver his people and walks into the Hebrew village to tell them he is their deliverer. They have this 5-7 minute conversation–that IS NOT in the Bible. He speaks with arrogance, and confidence. Trying to prove to skeptical people that he is their man of the hour.

Wasn’t he the meekest man on the earth? The Bible series makes him into the John Wayne of Egypt. The reason why this even matters is because they are turning him into a hero, and he was really just a simple man who was filled with the LIVING GOD. We don’t see God in this.

Another thing that really bothers me is how when the angel of death comes,

1.) it looks demonic

2.) it portrays God as bloodthirsty and cruel, to kill all those children. I mean when Pharaoh walks in and lays down his dead son on the floor–it is really sad.

The truth is, that God gave Pharaoh so many chances to let go of his slaves. He wouldn’t listen. And Egypt took the lives of so many Hebrew sons, as they forced the women to kill all the baby boys. Moses was one of the babies that should have been killed himself.

Then you see the Hebrews walking out of Egypt in a victory parade, in broad daylight. Moses is leading the procession, with his arm in the air waving them to freedom–the superstar hero.

It is so different.

SAMSON

bible, samson

I love the multicultural casting. Honestly. I think it is cool that they are showing that all the people of the earth are involved in what God has done throughout time. So I will not make a big deal out of the fact that Samson is black. Moses’ had a black wife, so it is possible that there is African blood among the children of Israel.

I do think that it would have been better to cast a normal size Hebrew looking man. Not a huge beast of a man. Because Samson’s power did not come from his beastly muscles, but from his powerful God.

The problem with Samson is that they spent 20 minutes of his segment detailing things that never happened, including the Philistines murdering his wife because they were racist against Jewish people. That NEVER happened. They skipped the fact that she betrayed him and he took vengeance on her family. They constantly skip important parts of the true story (for the sake of time they might say)–but then add these super long segments that are not in the Bible at all; the added segments do not develop the true story either. I understand you can’t show every scene in the Bible, but you should stick to the facts of the stories you chose to show, and not waste time with myth.

Whatever. They also skipped the fact that Delilah betrayed him over and over again and yet for some reason he finally told her the truth.

The TV series portrays it as a genuine love affair and suggests that he told her the truth the first time she asked. They also skip the time that he spent grinding grain, repenting. And let him pull the temple down upon the Philistines the same day his hair was cut off and his eyes were gouged out. I guess he didn’t really lose his strength that long???

What is the big picture we find in the actual Bible? Samson was supposed to be set apart for God. A Nazarite. He was supposed to stay away from grapes, dead things, and never cut his hair. But Samson was NOT set apart for the Lord. It is a tragic story, of a man who could have been greatly used by the Lord, ending his life in tragedy because he would not obey the Lord. He chose to party with the Philistines, fornicate with the women, hang out in the vineyards, eat honey out of a dead lion, etc. He was always blind. He did not even notice when the Holy Spirit left him.

There, that is the big picture of Samson’s life in 8 sentences. Did the TV series convey this? Not at all.

They told a different story. One that is not in the Bible.

Again, Samson is yet another mythological hero to these people.

Again, there is no spiritual lesson to be learned.

To them, God just raises up people, and gives them strength so people will die.

SAUL

saul, philistines

The way they presented Saul upsets me as well. I will try to keep this brief. In the show, they portray God as being unfair to him.”The poor guy waited for Samuel 7 days and someone needed to make the sacrifice???” Now God is going to punish him???? It shows him crying in his bed, asking for grace. God giving him no grace. No forgiveness. How mean, right? No wonder he throws a spear at David and tries to kill him!!!

It shows Saul as a normal person who missed out on God’s forgiveness, all because he wanted to give God a gift, an offering.

This treatment of Saul makes God look cruel, and merciless.

DAVID

bible, david

Well, first of all. Young David has distractingly white teeth. But that is not a problem spiritually speaking. Again, like Moses, when young David encounters Goliath, they make him into a “mythological hero” instead of a simple young kid who believed in the power of a mighty God. In the Bible David did not fight Goliath in order to bring military victory to Israel. In the real story, David was offended that Goliath was insulting the name and honor of the Living God. He was defending GOD’s honor, not Saul’s army.

David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied” 1 Samuel 17:45.

It bothered him that Goliath was speaking evil of the Lord, so he in faith, trusted that God would use him to bring Himself glory.

It seems like the producers’ of the show don’t have the same desire, to bring God glory.

They keep giving God’s glory to God’s people.

DAVID DANCING BEFORE THE ARK

The part of the story that gives me the most pain, is how they treat the moment that David dances before the ark of the covenant. Not only do they skip the whole story of the ark being captured by the Philistines, and that it is in the process of coming back to Jerusalem, they ruin the entire significance of David’s selfless worship of God.

David disrobed and danced before the ark of the covenant in humble, and holy worship.

This is a moment that shows how deeply David did love the Lord.

How he was a man after God’s own heart.

This moment in Scripture makes me cry when I read it.

Wearing a linen ephod, David was dancing before the Lord with all his might,

while he and all Israel were bringing up the ark of the Lord with shouts and the sound of trumpets. 2 Samuel 6:14

And his wife was watching, and later scolded him saying he looked undignified.

He told her he would let himself look even more undignified before the Lord.

Humility.

Holiness.

An Offering of Worship.

Pleasing to the Lord.

What does the History Channel do to this moment?

They show him dancing around like a party animal, in his underwear, dancing with women and lustfully making advances at Bathsheba.

THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN IN THE BIBLE.

This is so evil to do this.

Can we not see ONE PERSON LEGITIMATELY WORSHIP GOD IN THIS ENTIRE SERIES?

They portray Saul as having more devotion to God in prayer.

RAPE???

The show also portrays his LATER sin with Bathsheba as rape. They said she was unwilling and he forced himself on her. Could that have happened? It could have. Did it happen? Not necessarily. Yes, David was king so he technically could have forced himself upon her. But the Bible does not say that he did. So why does he get blamed for something that he was not even accused of, without any evidence that he is guilty?

One evening David got up from his bed and walked around on the roof of the palace. From the roof he saw a woman bathing. The woman was very beautiful,  and David sent someone to find out about her. The man said, “She is Bathsheba, the daughter of Eliam and the wife of Uriah the Hittite.”  Then David sent messengers to get her. She came to him, and he slept with her. (2 Samuel 11:2-4)

The Bible does not say that she protested, or that he forced himself on her.

But the TV Show does.

Why do they want to make David look even worse?

It is weird to me that they embellish to make the ungodly characters seem like better people than they were.

And the godly men seem like worse sinners than the Bible says they were.

Where do we see the holiness and goodness of God?

I see men of renown, performing acts of valor, for a territorial deity.

That is why I claim that “The Bible” series has treated the Bible as a mere Hebrew myth.

Do I hear the hiss of a serpent in this? I think I do.

I will probably keep watching the show.

Although I do not enjoy it at all.

I feel like if I don’t watch it and protest it, I am letting them get away with it.

But last night when I finished watching, I was crying a bit–tears of anger.

I was so angry, that they made my God and my faith look so small.

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in "The Bible" Series on the History Channel, Christianity, Defending the Truth, False Teachers, Our Amazing God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to “The Bible” Series on The History Channel–Turning the Word of God into Hebrew Myth

  1. Pingback: “WAKE UP!” — me screaming, then apologizing for some strange reason. | thelasthiker

  2. Thank you for sharing your heart. You aren’t the only one who was deeply disturbed by the alterations.

    • Hi Joanna Katherine. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I visited your blog and I really appreciate the things you write about. Keep up your important work.

      • Melina Cheek says:

        Hi,
        I came across your blog while checking out Nathan’s Forums. I jumped on to check out another blog you had posted and I was hooked. I’m not one for commenting, I seem to always get myself into trouble. Therefore, I usually keep silent.
        But….
        When I came to this article, I couldn’t help myself…..
        THANK YOU for speaking out against this mini series!!!!!
        I hated it!!!!
        My husband and I were so disappointed. When asking other people they loved it. I couldn’t wrap my head around it, were people not seeing what we were seeing?
        Anyway great job.
        I cant wait to read on, I’m having to copy them into a jump drive. We recently moved and they dont offer internet service in our location. I wasnt even aware that there were areas in the USA that wasn’t able to recieve service.

        • Hi Melina,

          I felt the same way! In fact, when I shared my concerns with certain friends of ours they just dug in their heels even deeper telling me why this is a great show and that God is in it. My jaw dropped. I was like, I just told you that the producers are new agers and you don’t see a problem . . . I don’t get it. What a huge blessing it is that you and your husband knew right away that there was something wrong with the show. I thank God for His Spirit that leads us in truth and away from error. May we always ALLOW Him to do so!!!

          Well, thank you so much for the nice comment! And God bless you as you get settled into your new home!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Wolves in sheeps clothing

  4. Latasha Hawkins says:

    Thank you! I really am glad we weren’t the only ones who noticed. It really upset me about Moses. Also it doesn’t show Aaron doing the things he did. Aaron was just there. The same goes for how John the Baptist died.. Smh.

  5. Anonymous says:

    “I feel like if I don’t watch it and protest it,I am letting them get away with it”!I always feel the same way with shows like this.I did eventually give up the television.But,you have an outlet to write about it;so I think for you that sentiment is good!I don’t mean to offend anyone;but I don’t think Christians should be watching much television.I don’t even think anyone should be ,but that’s another story.I have been recently convicted that even my non-violent period piece drama dvd’s are not really what I should being spending my time doing.I have not yet been given what will fill that space.And it could be challanging as I have a chronic illness and need time in bed.Sorry;didn’t mean to get off topic.
    Another well written article!Keep writing!
    God Bless -Sue

  6. Lisa says:

    Thank you so much for writing this! Like you, I was deeply disturbed by the portions of this series that I did stomach. And also, like you, I’ve had a friend or two dig heels in and mightily defend this series. It makes me so very sad. Not that I would dare compare myself to them, but it reminds me a bit of Joshua and Caleb. They were the only voices who gave a report that honored the Lord and it was very isolating to them. Standing firm can sometimes be lonely, even among fellow believers. Just wanted to encourage you to keep writing and know that you aren’t alone!

  7. CC says:

    It’s been a long time since I watched the movie, but I did not like at all the way David was portrayed, for example. Not at all like the Bible portrays him, He didn’t evidence one ounce of holiness in the mini-series – he came off like a real jerk, worse, a letch. I would have hated to be child and have THAT be my impression of David.

    Also, (and among many, many other things) I did not like their Jesus. He seemed immature, naive, a holly-go-lightly skipping through the tulips sort – definitely not the Son of God.

    So, I have no plans to see Son of God, although I almost feel as if I have to, to note the horridness.

  8. Sarah G says:

    I just found your blog from a post on Facebook. I wanted to let you know how much I appreciate the time you spent going over the mini series and then contrasting it with the actual word of God. I too felt myself reaching for my bible several times during the mini series to verify things that sounded and seemed not right.

    Thank you for this. I’ve passed along the information to people in my church before they go off telling people to watch the new movie coming out.

  9. Very interesting all your comments. I have a dear love over Samson’s story and find myself wanting to poke my eyes with cotton candy when his story is not told properly. I think you forgot to mention that in spite of Samson’s repeated sinful behavior, he is mentioned as one of the heroes of the faith. One must remember that he is a type of Christ in the sense that with his death he killed more Phillistines than in all his life.

  10. Anonymous says:

    I have never watched any of the Son of on TV and never planned to. nor do I plan to go to the movie and watch it I strongly feel that all true believers in Jesus Christ well know that this is a New Age movement movie.

  11. Pingback: The “Son of God” Movie Is NOT What We Think – Do You Know The Voice of Your Master? FULL reblog. | The Christian Gazette

  12. JJ says:

    Could you sight the radio programs where you quote her and articles that speak of the school she attended and that she spoke with her mother? I have looked up the school, you are dead on on that one. We want to be able to point people to sights to look it up for themselves. I need back up for my own side debate on this. Please let me know.

    • Yes, I will link it in the article too, but here is a link to the radio interview on Focus on the Family, and I don’t have a link to the video of the program of Crossing over, but here is a link to a library that gives information about the show. I wonder if I could find the actual episode, that would be good to watch (under the blood of Jesus).

  13. I just read this. I agree with all of your points. I had a similar experience watching it. But, as a Messianic rabbi, I must take offense at your labelng this a “Hebrew myth.” There was NOTHING Hebraic about this. It is actually MORE offensive to me as a Jew than to me as a Believer. Some of thins you didn’t mention, such as elements of their portrayal of the Abraham story, were just as bad.

    • I apologize for the misunderstanding. I am not trying to imply that Hebrews believe in myths, because I believe the stories are true. I guess I confused you with how I put it, because I was trying to say that they made the true history of the Hebrew people, look like the pagan Greek mythological heroes. For example, Sampson was portrayed as a Hercules “type” figure. It made the Old Testament look more like pagan mythology than actual miraculous truth of a very real and Holy God interacting with His people. This treatment of the Bible offended me, much the same way my phrase offended you. Thank you for sharing.

  14. Dana says:

    Well done for exposing this. Deception in the Church is coming to the fore more and more these days. I have been spending much time comparing bibles and all the new versions are new age and they attack the Deity of Christ, Salvation, Grace of God and the Blood of Jesus Christ. When you share this with Christians some believe it, some don’t. Check your bibles folks. Colossians 1 : 14. KJV says …’the remission of sins, through His blood ‘ All other versions in including the NKJV (which has the satanic triqueta insignia ) leave this out. Acts 8 : 37 is left out of all new versions attacking salvation and on and on.

  15. Deb Rister says:

    Thanks for sharing,as my husband and I watched The Bible Series ,we felt much the same as you. At first you look over it but when it seems to continue to put actual events in a different light you have to realize this isn’t of God.

  16. Kimberly says:

    i saw the movie on tv and turned it off after the sampson. This day in age people don’t read the bible they take it for face value, for what the pastor preaches on Sunday or what they see on tv because they don’t take the time to read it for themselves. If someone told you you won the lottery or someone died you knew close, or that the earth was going to be hit by a metor this week, would you believe it or check it out for yourself. The things that are most important in our lives, become our priority and the Bible is not that for most. I would say that 50 % that do read bits and peices of it instead of studying it to show yourself approved. I believe we show God how much we love him by reading his word and learning from it so that we can walk closer to him. Granted we stumble but keeping his word in our hearts, so we can grow, but he also said that if we become obiedent in the little things then…….. So what does he ask of us, talk to him daily, read to keep our hearts right, and so that we will not to be decieved, treat others as we would want to be treated. He ask so very little of us and we can’t daily do these 3 things. As each generation pass on with lesser and lesser knowledge of God’s word then we see how easy generations will be decieved and less the days be shorten no one will be saved. Dear God let our children have a hunger to learn and serve you. Pray for the generation in your family to stay on the path, that their hearts and minds will be receptive to his will, and will teach their children the importance of one God and selflessness instead of selfishness self centered new age theology.

  17. Donna M. Spencer says:

    Thank you so much for your courage and being willing to speak the truth no matter what the outcome. I’ve never seen your writing before, someone posted this on my FB page.
    I too have been deeply grieved over “The Bible” on the History channel. There were so many things inaccurate in the very beginning of the series that I didn’t watch it for long. BUT, everything you have written is so true, especially about the Believers who seem to need to justify the whole thing, by saying ‘at least someone is producing something about the Bible’…
    Most of my Believing friends weren’t bothered by it at all. They were glad to watch something -so called- ‘biblical.
    I have felt sick inside, frustrated and even doubted my discernment and motives for the past several months, up to the hype for the movie, “Son of God”.
    Just looking at the photo of this man who was chosen to portray Jesus has bothered me so much and I couldn’t put my finger on it till I read your post. I am a great-grandmother so, I’m not into the ‘hot’ guy thing. I do appreciate beauty, but there was something else going on here.
    I was also upset, if they wanted to ‘really’ portray the true Jesus that they couldn’t have found a wonderful Jewish actor. I’m sure there are many of them who would have done an excellent job.
    My heart hurts for the slumbering church, for the lack of true discernment, for the willingness to accept anyone who ‘claims’ to be a believer. This has become a popular thing in the entertainment industry.
    I have told friends to look at the fruit over and over. I’m weary of hearing empty words and seeing ungodly lifestyles. It is refreshing to learn I am not so alone as I have thought.
    God bless you and protect you as you continue to sound the alarm.
    BTW, I am part Jewish and love Yeshua/Jesus the One and Only Messiah with all my heart.
    Shalom

  18. Jacqi says:

    I breathed a sigh of relief after reading this post as well as the one about the just released Son of God movie. The Bible series sat on my DVR for months because I waited for my husband to have time to watch with me, but I finally gave up and watched alone. Nearly every single story you wrote about above was something I also noticed. They irritated me, but I chalked it up to “creative license” and “lack of time.” I did finish watching the entire series, maybe because it was something like watching a train wreck… couldn’t look away. I tried to talk to my husband about it – he is a very strong Jesus loving Christian – but he seemed to think maybe I saw things that weren’t such a big deal. (again, he didn’t watch ;)) I have to say what made me sickest, was the last installment of the series – the story of Jesus – all the women are dressed pretty historically accurate with their hair completely hidden, and their clothes looked like they were poor and drab, and even a little dirty. Then here comes Roma Downey, aka Mary, the mother of Jesus, with her flowing beautiful wavy hair cascading out from under her “veil” of blue and very “rich” ornate clothing. It was then that I realized just how self serving the entire series had been. Without ever reading about her ties to paganism and new age teachings until your blog posts, I was struck deep in my spirit that something is VERY wrong with these people. It’s scary.

    • Thank you for your comment Jacqi. I am so encouraged when I hear that I am not the only one who was bothered by this. It is just that we love the Bible so much, that we can’t stand to see it ruined!!! God bless.

  19. Thank you for following my blog; I am deeply blessed by your kindness.. Please keep up the good work of a Berean,Acts 17:11. May our Lord Jesus richly bless you.

    Senior Pastor/Equipping The Saints
    Philip 3:10, “That I Might Know Him”
    http://gravatar.com/cchurchchurchblog
    http://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/

  20. margaret barany says:

    Thank you so much for speaking out. What amazes me about all these false teachers is that they must know the Bible in order to rewrite it. So, it’s hard to believe they haven’t any fear of God’s wrath. Jesus said to those who said, but haven’t I cast out devils in your name, “I never knew you.” Joel Olsteen and his wife are also so involved with Roma, and they are the two most phoniest people in the church. Thank you again for your love of God to care enough about us who are not able to decern the truth as new Christians.

  21. Anonymous says:

    I wasn’t angry or even surprised by this movie. I expected it to be a Hollywood type endeavor, inaccurate and offensive to anyone who knows the Word of God . I watched parts of it with the attitude of someone doing a homework assignment that is distasteful but necessary. I think it’s naive (foolish) of Christians to believe that rich and famous people who claim to be serving God are really doing so. I much appreciate the author’s careful analysis and comparison with the real Word of God as I’m often asked questions about the Bible and books and movies that are about it. Something else that I think is very important is that no one can make God or a person’s faith in him look small. They can only deny the truth. The only tears to cry over this strange movie are tears of joy that we know the real truth which is that Jesus, who is God, was the strongest, bravest, toughest, and most loving person who ever lived. He took the punishment we rightfully deserved when he gave himself for all of mankind. So sad that many will never humble themselves and accept that gift from God, but yet claim to know and love him.

  22. Pingback: “The Bible” Series on The History Channel–Turning the Word of God into Hebrew Myth | Be Sober Be Vigilant

  23. theyosef says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    Take heed no man decieve you – Jesus in Matthew 24

  24. Pingback: A wolf in sheep’s clothing ? | IsaiahMinistries

  25. Bonnie says:

    Shalom
    Thank you so much for this.
    It is true that Ms Roma & her husband did,
    they are mixing new age &THE GOSPEL OF CHRIST JESUS. And that is dangerous very dangerous. We need to pray for Ms Roma & her husband to turn their Heart’s to Our LORD AND SAVIOR CHRIST JESUS And HIS FINISH WORK ON THE CROSS

  26. Anonymous says:

    I’m an atheist watching this thinking, “Why would any Christian ever put this on television? This looks like something “I” would want people to watch to show how awful their Old Testament is”. So I googled “The Bible Miniseries makes God look like a jerk” and came to this blog.

    I will say this, you seem to be very upset by the size of Sampson, and by the sadness of the Pharaoh, but not at all upset by the actual slaughter and bloodshed that God asked his people to take part in.

  27. It is ashamed that just about all churches and christians are ignoring all that is being changed for the convenience of all man

  28. Liz Dueck says:

    I agree so much about the inaccuracies. I realize some people interpret some things a little differently, and not everyone can be pleased, but there’s no need to add completely made up stuff that adds nothing of value to the actual story that is written, and certainly no need to leave out important details. I’m thinking of Francine Rivers in her book “A Lineage of Grace”, she filled in some details of stories in the Bible that are not there, but she left nothing out, and what she added actually added to the story in a plausible way, I thought.

    Anyway, I’m looking for the most true-to-the-Bible series out there, which would you recommend? My 11yo keeps asking to see one, and I can’t figure out which would be the best one. I don’t want to show him something completely unbiblical.

Leave a Reply

