WATCH–Don’t Be Caught Sleeping!

If the people of God were strong and vibrant and watching, I would be so stirred up right now–so excited. But I don’t see that. I see my brothers and sisters with heads hanging down, with minds filled with filth, with apathy in their hearts. They are tired. They are confused. They are complacent. They are compromised. They are vulnerable.

My brothers and sisters. Jesus told us to WATCH for His glorious coming.

“Watch therefore, for you do not know when the master of the house is coming—in the evening, at midnight, at the crowing of the rooster, or in the morning—  lest, coming suddenly, he find you sleeping.  And what I say to you, I say to all: Watch!” Mark 13:35-37.

Watch. 

We are so distracted Lord. Forgive us Lord. Quicken our spirits. Set us apart.

“Come away, My beloved.”

The pagan holiday of Imbolc came and went, along with all the pomp and regality associated with the followers of Mystery Babylon. As the Wiccans celebrated the “goddess” going form the “Crone” to the “Maiden,” we had the moon goddess personified on the stage of the Grammy’s casting spells and performing rituals, using Katy Perry as a willing avatar.

We had sex magik displayed through Beyonce and Jay-Z, then through the Macklemore song “One Love,” and finally last night, through a demonic song Bruno Mars sang at the Super Bowl called “Locked Out of Heaven.” It is interesting though, because I couldn’t figure out why The Red Hot Chili Peppers were invited, until I remembered they have an album called “Blood Sugar Sex Magik.”

Aleister Crowley. Sex Magik. Imbolc. Witchcraft. Satanism. All of it is pretty sad and sick.

And all of it would be less of a big deal, if the children of God were half as enthused as the children of the fallen one–because they seem to be jammin. They are unified. They are passionate. They are bold. They are willing to do what it takes to align themselves as pieces of the fallen ones’ puzzle.

What are we doing?

We are filling our minds with their junk and excusing it.

A worship leader at our church posting on Facebook how he was so pleased with how “clean” Bruno Mars’ performance was. Well, yes Bruno Mars wasn’t wearing lingerie, like the performer last year. And yet he is singing a sexually explicit song, that mocks sacred elements of Christianity.

I honestly don’t think people heard the lyrics. Maybe we just don’t know. But at the same time we are drinking the spiked punch. Allowing ourselves to become drunk on that which we think is clean.

And it numbs our spirits and feeds our flesh.

And we are weak.

And we are sleepy.

And we are lazy.

And we really just have enough spiritual energy left to get some chips from the kitchen and come back to the couch.

Lord, revive us.

I had a dream from the Lord a few years ago, in which the house I lived in just happened to have a group of carnal Christians living in it. It was a beautiful home. And there was a sun room off the back. And in that sun-room resided about 4 people that were lazy and dirty. They wore their old sweats and stinky stained t-shirts. They snacked on Cheetos and Mountain Dew, while they watched their “Family Guy” and “Simpsons” reruns. We didn’t have much in common, but they were there now, and I had accepted that. I was just trying to live my own life my way, and let them be. But a storm was coming. As it drew near and thunder began to shake the walls of the house, I saw them caught of guard. They were crawling over one another in fear, and screaming at me to not go outside. But I saw the power of the storm and I was compelled. I walked with awe out onto the porch. I could feel the wind and the rain, and I could see the lightening bolts touching the grass in the yard. And while they were screaming in terror, I was sensing the presence of the Lord in this storm. I ran into the middle of the storm, because I knew the Lord would protect me and I wanted to be as close as I could to Him.

Through this dream, it was so clear to me–the Lord was showing me the difference in how people would react to the troubling times coming. Some of His people would be ready–they would feel His presence, and have faith despite the coming storm. And yet those who live to please the sinful nature would not be ready. The carnal Christians who have taken up residence in our church houses, do not have the intimacy with God needed to get them through the storm. They will be spiritually weak, filled with fear and panic. They will not be able to hear the voice of the Lord or sense His presence because they have ignored it so long. They are dull to it. Numb.

I want to be the way I was in the dream–running with awe into a yard filled with lightening bolts. I don’t want to be the dull glutton overcome with fear. I need to be ready, to be watchful-spiritually.

Lord wake us up. Lord wake us up.

And do this, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep; for now our salvation is nearer than when we first believed.  The night is far spent, the day is at hand. Therefore let us cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armor of light. Let us walk properly, as in the day, not in revelry and drunkenness, not in lewdness and lust, not in strife and envy.  But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts.” Romans 13:11-14

CROSSfit

Our culture is so big right now on the CrossFit movement. Extreme muscle, strength training, clean eating. etc.

And we are spiritually CrossWeak.

Paul got it. He said, “But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.” 1 Corinthians 9:27

We need to carry the cross now. Build up our endurance, now.

Deny our FLESH now.

Walk by faith, now.

Speak boldly into the face of persecution, now.

We need to hear His voice now.

We need to walk hard after Him, now.

This isn’t about legalism.

It is about trimming our lamps and being ready.

“That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.” (John 3:6)

The world, is ready for their ‘god.’ We have no idea how much time and work the world is putting their satanic plans. The creativity, and physical training, and planning that goes into a show/ritual like the Grammy’s, or the Olympic Ceremonies, or the Superbowl half-time show. It isn’t about entertainment; it is about agenda. And they invest-sweat, money, time. And they sacrifice–sleep, rest, and probably more than we know.

Are we gluttonously gorging at the table of Satan, instead of being nourished and built up at the table of the Lord. Let us come out from among them and be separate.

Let us train ourselves, and run this race like a serious athlete. Focused. Daily, exercising our faith. Daily eating that what is good [the WORD], and putting to death the works of the sinful nature, by gripping onto the Spirit of the Lord with all we have. Let us be strong. Let us have vision. Getting used to the weight of the spiritual armor. Walking in the authority of the precious name of Christ. Being the priests we were called to be.

Let us CARE.

Let us WATCH.

It will make a difference, in the end.

“You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.” Psalm 23:5

About The Last Hiker

Following Him Up the Mountain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WATCH–Don’t Be Caught Sleeping!

  1. Deana says:

    Thank you for encouraging and exhorting us to be serious about our faith…to dig deeper and walk closer to the Lord!!

  2. Ester Bunnie says:

    I appreciate your post and it’s a good one – like always. One thing I noticed, however, speaks directly to the problem of ‘carnal Christians’. You say at one point, “This isn’t about legalism”. This is what I find so disturbing about the church. If a person espouses obedience to the Lord they almost always follow it up with ‘This isn’t about legalism’, as if an apology needs to be made for the standards we are supposed to live out and embody as believers! In a sense, though, yes – it IS all about legalism! In case some haven’t notice, God is THE lawgiver. That is an irrefutable part of His nature. To deny this is to not worship God in truth and in spirit. He has the right to make the law, and we will be judged by His law. That is the standard. We cannot on one hand tell unbelievers that they have broken God’s law and need His forgiveness, and then when they come to the Lord tell them they can forget about any law-abiding behavior because now it’s ‘not about legalism’! This is utter foolishness and I believe is one of the reasons the church is not a robust body like it could and should be. Instead, churches everywhere make ‘legalism’ the enemy, but correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t that Satan’s trap – wasn’t it him who questioned the legal authority God had to require that His creatures restrain themselves and follow His direction? Wasn’t the underlying message about how the lack of legalism is a GOOD thing that will fulfill our desires? And today, because people in the church don’t want to be ‘legalistic’ anything – and almost everything – goes. This should not be! Paul didn’t apologize in any respect for the ‘legalism’ he instructed early believers to follow, nor did Peter, nor did John, nor did any true follower. Jesus Himself was legalistic in following the Jewish law, but He did it perfectly of course. Please understand that I’m not saying we should follow the letter, and not the spirit, of the law. But what I am saying is because churches tend to view the Pharisees and Sadducees as the ‘bad guys’ in the bible because they were ‘legalistic’, the baby has been thrown out with the bathwater. One last thing … we can see God’s laws throughout creation – in the way the planets move in orbit, the way spring follows winter, the way death ends life. He is the undeniable and perfect Lawgiver and until His followers truly acknowledge this aspect of His sovereignty, there will continue to be ‘carnal Christians’ – who aren’t Christian at all.

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. I definitely agree. I get so weary of this in our own church. People don’t want to be told to be holy. But in the end that shows how sick they are in their spirits. For if they were really IN LOVE with Christ, no one would have to encourage them to holiness–they would WANT to be holy. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

